Ireland international Jackson to make his Ulster return against Munster A

The 23-year-old hasn’t played under Joe Schmidt since last year’s Six Nations.

IRELAND INTERNATIONAL OUT-half Paddy Jackson will make his comeback from injury in the Ulster Ravens’ clash with Munster A in Nenagh tomorrow [KO 16.30].

Paddy Jackson scores a try Jackson was a try-scorer against Wales last year. Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

The 23-year-old had been out of action since January, when he dislocated his elbow in Ulster’s Champions Cup clash with Toulon at Stade Mayol.

Frustratingly, Jackson had been finding impressive form in the preceding weeks as the Six Nations loomed, having had something of an up-and-down, injury-hit season before that.

Jackson has won nine Ireland caps in his career so far, including four appearances off the bench in last year’s Six Nations success. The Ulsterman was omitted from Joe Schmidt’s squad for the 2014 November Tests, with Ian Keatley and Ian Madigan preferred as back-up to Johnny Sexton.

Ireland international back row Robbie Diack is also included in an interesting Ravens selection for the clash in Nenagh, with exciting young backs Jack Owens and Rory Scholes named in the back three.

Meanwhile, Munster’s strong A side includes Ireland internationals Donnacha Ryan and Stephen Archer, the former continuing his comeback from a long-term toe injury.

Ryan is a former student of Nenagh CBS and played at underage levels for Nenagh Ormond RFC, meaning a large crowd is expected for tomorrow’s game.

Donnacha Ryan Ryan's comeback takes another step tomorrow. Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Senior players Andrew Conway and Johne Murphy are part of the backline alongside captain and out-half Rory Scannell, who has been in impressive form this season.

Lansdowne FC man Joe McSwiney is included in the second row alongside Ryan.

Ulster Ravens

15. Jack Owens
14. Ricky Andrew
13. Mike Stanley
12. Mark Best
11. Rory Scholes
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Paul Marshall

1. Andrew Warwick
2. John Andrew
3. Bronson Ross
4. Lewis Stevenson (captain)
5. Neil McComb
6. Frankie Taggart
7. Sean Reidy
8. Robbie Diack


16. Paul Jackson
17. Dave Ryan
18. Ricky Lutton
19. Stephen Mulholland
20. Dave Shanahan
21. Michael Heaney
22. Kieran Joyce
23. Johnny Rosborough

Munster A

15. Johne Murphy
14. Andrew Conway
13. Dan Goggin
12. Ivan Dineen
11. Luke O’Dea
10. Rory Scannell (captain)
9. Neil Cronin

1. Peter McCabe
2. Kevin O’Byrne
3. Stephen Archer
4. Joe McSwiney
5. Donnacha Ryan
6. Shane Buckley
7. Sean Dougall
8. Paddy Butler


16. Niall Scannell
17. Liam O’Connor
18. John Ryan
19. Frank Bradshaw Ryan
20. Ben Kilkenny
21. Jamie Glynn
22. Dave Johnston
23. Diarmuid McCarthy
24. Darren Sweetnam

Schmidt’s Ireland confident white line fever will be remedied against Scotland

Analysis: Where does Ireland’s attack stand under Joe Schmidt?

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.