Poll: Who do you think will win today’s All-Ireland club finals at Croke Park?

Cuala, Ballyea, Dr Crokes and Slaughtneil are the four clubs involved.

TODAY MARKS THE end to the 2016/17 GAA club season, as four clubs battle it out for ultimate honours in Croke Park.

pjimage Source: Inpho

For many of the players on show, today will represent the pinnacle of their careers.

First up at 3pm is the clash between Cuala and Ballyea in the hurling decider.

It’s a novel final pairing, with both clubs competing in their first final. In fact, Cuala are the first ever Dublin club to reach the All-Ireland final.

The last Clare champions to make it this far was St Joseph’s Doora Barefield in 2000, a team that boasted Banner legends Jamesie O’Connor, Seánie McMahon and Ollie Baker.

Ollie Baker 19/2/2000 Ollie Baker was part of the last club team from Clare to lift the Tommy Moore Cup in 1999 Source: Andrew Paton/INPHO

Then at 5pm we’ve got the football affair between Kerry kingpins Dr Crokes and Slaughtneil of Derry.

Dr Crokes have been here a few times before. They lost to Crossmaglen after a replay in the 2007 final, but lifted the title in 1992 after beating Thomas Davis – a game where Colm Cooper was the team mascot.

Ulster champions Slaughtneil have also experienced the pain of defeat on the big day, having lost out to Corofin by 1-14 to 0-7 on their only St Patrick’s Day appearance two years ago.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Laune Rangers Billy O'Sullivan is congratulated after scoring a goal 1996 Laune Rangers' Billy O'Sullivan is congratulated after scoring a goal in 1996 Source: INPHO

A club team from the Kingdom haven’t lifted the Andy Merrigan Cup since Laune Rangers in 1996, while Ballinderry Shamrocks’ victory in 2002 was the last time the trophy made the trip to Derry.

But we want to know, who do you think will be the two winners today? 

Poll Results:

Dr Crokes and Cuala (1435)
Dr Crokes and Ballyea (1417)
Slaughtneil and Ballyea (554)
Slaughtneil and Cuala (461)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tyrone power to top of Division 1 as strong second half performance blows Cavan away

‘We are not miles ahead of the rest’ – Michael Ryan satisfied as Tipperary maintain unbeaten run

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: