Dublin: 11°C Monday 23 May 2022

Rebel pair lead charge for ladies' football prize

The nominees for this year’s LGFA Players’ Player of the Year Awards have been announced.

Cork's Briege Corkery.
Cork's Briege Corkery.
Image: ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

ALL-IRELAND WINNING duo Briege Corkery and Geraldine O’Flynn of Cork have been nominated for the top prize at the LGFA Players’ Player of the Year Awards.

Corkery and O’Flynn, who starred in the half-back line as the Rebel footballers claimed their sixth title in seven years, are joined by Dublin’s Sinead Goldrick on the shortlist in the Senior Player of the Year category.

In the intermediate section, All-Ireland finalists Waterford and Armagh are represented with one nominee each. Waterford’s Elaine Power and Armagh’s Caroline O’Hanlon both receive nods, as does Sharon Tracy who makes the shortlist following a fantastic season with Longford’s ladies.

Antrim’s All-Ireland winning captain Clare Timoney leads the nominations in the junior category. Timoney is joined by Saffrons team-mate Kirsty McGuinness while Grace Lynch represents beaten finalists Louth.

The winners will be announced at the TG4/O’Neill’s All Star Awards at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday 10 November.

LGFA Senior Player of the Year

  • Sinead Goldrick (Dublin)
  • Briege Corkery (Cork)
  • Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)

LGFA Intermediate Player of the Year

  • Elaine Power (Waterford)
  • Sharon Treacy (Longford)
  • Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh)

LGFA Junior Player of the Year

  • Kirsty McGuinness (Antrim)
  • Clare Timoney (Antrim)
  • Grace Lynch (Louth)

2012 Leinster Club SHC team-by-team guide

GAA fans gear up to support Michaela Foundation

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: