Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -1°C Monday 1 March 2021

Roscommon hit four goals as they hammer Cork by 18 points

Second successive league win in Munster for the Rossies.

Roscommon 4-25
Cork 3-10

Fintan O’Toole reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

ROSCOMMON’S FOOTBALL RISE continues after they thrashed Cork in Páirc Uí Rinn this afternoon in a Division 1 league game that saw a remarkable seven goals registered.

Mark Collins and Fintan Cregg Cork's Brian O'Driscoll and Roscommon's Fintan Cregg battle for the ball Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

There was no disputing Roscommon’s superiority here in a match where they were nine points in front at the break and continued to dictate the terms of engagement in the second-half.

It marked Roscommon’s second successive league win away to a Munster football outfit on a day when Ciaran Murtagh bagged a brace of goals while Senan Kilbride and Cathal Cregg also found the net.

Young Cork full-forward Peter Kelleher netted twice and he also set up Luke Connolly for their third goal.

But this was an utterly chastening experience for Cork and they must pick themselves up before next Saturday’s tough task away to Dublin.

Niall Daly sustains a facial injury Roscommon's Niall Daly sustains a facial injury during the first-half Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Cork had received a boost in the 13th minute when full-forward Peter Kelleher, still eligible for the U21 ranks this year, palmed to the net after wing-back Tom Clancy knifed through the Roscommon rearguard to create the opening.

But their joy was short lived as Roscommon rallied with a goal of their own. Senan Kilbride fetched a Fintan Cregg delivery in the 15th minute over Eoin Cadogan and turned before despatching the ball to the net in style.

Roscommon had ten different scores in the opening period with an array of players striking over fine points. They got another massive injection of confidence before interval in the shape of a second goal.

Fintan Cregg shoots on goal Fintan Cregg hit 0-5 for Roscommon today Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Again it was an emphatic finish to the net, this time by Cathal Cregg after Conor Daly and Ian Kilbride did the creative work.

Cork could have grabbed a second goal themselves to revive their challenge before the break but this time Kelleher palmed the ball wide of the upright after Paul Kerrigan burst forward to set him up.

Daniel Goulding shot is blocked down by Niall Daly Cork forward Daniel Goulding's shot is blocked down by Roscommon's Niall Daly Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

It was 2-13 to 1-7 in favour of Roscommon at the interval before Ciaran Murtagh killed off Cork’s challenge when he struck home Roscommon’s third goal shortly early in the second-half.

Cork did respond with Kelleher firing home his second goal in the 42nd minute but Roscommon responded with 1-5 without reply, Murtagh smashing home his second goal.

Peter Kelleher reacts to missing a shot on goal Peter Kelleher reacts to missing a shot on goal for Cork Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Roscommon were ahead by 20 points at one stage, 4-21 to 2-7, and they finished with 12 different scorers to illustrate their devastating attacking performance.

Cork bagged a late consolation goal through Connolly, one of their better performers on the day, but this was a dispiriting afternoon for them.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Scorers for Roscommon: Ciaran Murtagh 2-3 (0-1f), Fintan Cregg 0-5 (0-2f), Cathal Cregg 1-2, Senan Kilbride 1-1, Conor Devaney 0-4, Cian Connolly 0-3 (0-1f), Enda Smith 0-2, Neil Collins, Niall Daly, David Murray, Cathal Shine, Ian Kilbride 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Peter Kelleher 2-0, Luke Connolly 1-3 (0-1f), Daniel Goulding 0-4 (0-3f), Brian Hurley, Colm O’Neill (0-1f), Paul Kerrigan 0-1 each.


16. Geoffrey Claffey (Castlerea St-Kevin’s)

2. Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Neil Collins (St Brigid’s, Dublin)
4. Niall McInerney (St Brigids)

6. Sean Purcell (Boyle)
7. David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
5. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
8. Enda Smith (Boyle)
9. Ian Kilbride (St. Brigid’s)

10. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
11. Ciaran Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
12. Conor Devanney (Kilbride)

13. Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
14. Senan Kilbride (St Brigid’s)
15. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)

19. Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses) for Daly (inj) (23)
23. Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses) for Cathal Cregg (55)
17. Ronan Stack (St Brigid’s) for Purcell (57)
18. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels) for Murray (60)
22. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael) for Fintan Cregg (60)
20. Cathal McHugh (St Brigid’s) for Murtagh (63)


1. Ken O Halloran (Bishopstown)

4. James Loughrey (Mallow)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
2. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
6. Michael Shields (St Finbarrs)
7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

8. Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere)
9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)

10. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers) – Captain
12. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

23. Sean Kiely (Ballincollig) for O’Sullivan (half-time)
20. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet) for Shields (half-time)
22. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues) for Collins (45)
17. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown) for Loughrey (45)
26. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) for Goulding (50)
23. Dan MacEoin (Ilen Rovers) for Hurley (65)

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath)
The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Michael Darragh Macauley leads strong opposition to the ‘mark’

Brogan the hero for Dublin as they snatch victory at the death against Monaghan

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: