This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Monday 20 January, 2020

Just 2 senior hurling panellists on Clare U21 team for Munster semi-final

Four survivors from last year’s All-Ireland winning team named in the Banner County line-up.

Shane O'Donnell is in the Clare U21 team to face Waterford.
Shane O'Donnell is in the Clare U21 team to face Waterford.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

SHANE O’DONNELL spearheads the Clare challenge for tomorrow evening’s Bord Gáis Energy Munster U21 hurling semi-final against favourites Waterford.

But the 2013 All-Ireland senior final replay hat-trick hero is one of just two senior squad members named in the Banner County’s starting line-up.

In contrast to recent years, when there was a massive crossover between the senior and U21 squads, Clare are relying on a new crop of emerging young players as they go in search of a fourth successive provincial crown at this grade.

O’Donnell is named in the full-forward line for the visit of the star-studded Déise to Cusack Park in Ennis.

Bobby Duggan Bobby Duggan is named in the Clare half-forward line. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Of the 26-man senior panel for last Saturday’s All-Ireland qualifier loss to Cork, just O’Donnell and Bobby Duggan are included in the U21 starting 15.

O’Donnell scored two points against the Rebels but Duggan was an unused sub.

The Clare line-up includes four of the team that started last year’s All-Ireland U21 final win – Keith Hogan, Conor Cleary, Duggan and O’Donnell.

Tomorrow evening’s clash is live on TG4 and will have a 7.30pm start.


1. Keith Hogan (Clooney Quin)

2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona)
4. Shane O’Brien (Clonlara)

5. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay)
7. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)

8. David Conroy (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)
9. Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona)

10. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)
11. Shane Gleeson (Cratloe)
12. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)

13. Shane O’Donnell (Éire Óg)
14. Stephen Ward (Clarecastle)
15. Ryan Taylor (Clooney-Quin)

Another Leinster title – but Dublin’s performance leaves as many questions as answers

Tipperary’s hurlers can finish what they’ve started by becoming All-Ireland champions

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next: