This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Sunday 20 October, 2019

Four changes to Springboks' starting XV as captain Jean de Villiers returns

Heyneke Meyer has made a number of changes to his team to face Argentina on Saturday.

FORMER MUNSTER CENTRE Jean de Villiers has been restored to the South Africa team as captain, nine months after a horrific knee injury had threatened to end his World Cup hopes.

Ronan O'Gara and Jean De Villiers De Villiers with Ronan O'Gara in 2010. Source: James Crombie

The 34-year-old admitted to fearing he might not walk again after the injury against Wales last November, but six operations and a mountain of arduous rehabilitation later, de Villiers is back in the Springboks’ 13 jersey for Saturday’s Rugby Championship meeting with Argentina in Durban (KO 16.05 Irish time).

The veteran’s return means Jesse Kriel – who excelled during his first two caps in midfield – moves to the right wing, with Cornal Hendricks dropping out of the matchday 23 altogether.

Vincent Koch gets his first start for the Boks at tighthead prop, while the decision to rest Jannie du Plessis sees Marcel van der Merwe called onto the bench. In the back row, Marcell Coetzee returns to replace Francois Louw.

There are further comebacks to the squad for dynamic back row Siya Kolisi, the imposing 22-year-old lock/flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit and wing Lwazi Mvovo, all included on the bench.

Heyneke Meyer’s side are looking for their first win in the Rugby Championship in this weekend’s final round fixture against the Pumas, having already lost to Australia and New Zealand.

The Boks are potential opponents for Ireland at the semi-final and final stages of the World Cup.

South Africa (v Argentina):

15. Willie le Roux
14. Jesse Kriel
13. Jean de Villiers (captain)
12. Damian de Allende
11. Bryan Habana
10. Handré Pollard
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Tendai Mtawarira
2. Bismarck du Plessis
3. Vincent Koch
4. Eben Etzebeth
5. Lood de Jager
6. Heinrich Brüssow
7. Marcell Coetzee
8. Schalk Burger (vice-captain)


16. Adriaan Strauss
17. Trevor Nyakane
18. Marcel van der Merwe
19. Pieter-Steph du Toit
20. Siya Kolisi
21. Cobus Reinach
22. Pat Lambie
23. Lwazi Mvovo

What’s the story with Wales v Ireland not being on TV?

Former Australian international to replace Paul O’Connell at Munster

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel