Maurice Fitzgerald's St Mary's are Munster champions after a famous win today

Carrigaline were well beaten in the IFC decider.

Maurice Fitzgerald in his playing days with Kerry.
Maurice Fitzgerald in his playing days with Kerry.
Image: Billy Stickland/INPHO

ST MARY’S RAN out comfortable 1-16 to 0-9 winners over Carrigaline in Killarney today to claim a famous Munster IFC title.

Denis Daly took advantage of a poor kick out to hit the only goal of the game on 51 minutes.

The teams exchanged points in the first period with Carrigaline enjoying the benefit of the wind. But the Cork side trotted in two points down — 0-8 to 0-6 — at the break.

Bryan Sheehan struck two frees, Denis Daly hit three points as well as that crucial goal as the Kerry outfit powered home.

Limerick blow as David Breen confirms he will take inter-county break in 2016

Limerick hurler replaces Donal Óg as GPA chairman

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: