This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 8 July, 2020

Thurles Sars hit 0-27 in semi-final win to stay on track for Tipp hurling four-in-a-row

The champions saw off Éire Óg Annacarty today.

Padraic Maher and his Thurles Sarsfields team-mates are close to four-in-a-row.
Padraic Maher and his Thurles Sarsfields team-mates are close to four-in-a-row.
Image: Ken Sutton/INPHO

Thurles Sarsfields 0-27
Éire Óg Annacarty 0-18

Shane Brophy reports from Semple Stadium

CHASING THEIR FOURTH Dan Breen Cup in a row, holders Thurles Sarsfields eased into the Tipperary senior hurling final following a comfortable win over Eire Og Annacarty at Semple Stadium today.

Already large underdogs, Eire Og went into the game without suspended former Tipp defender Conor O’Brien and current Tipp panellist Tom Fox was forced to play through the pain barrier.

Thurles weren’t about to show any mercy and after the sides were level after three minutes, they reeled off the next eleven points by the quarter hour with Aidan McCormack to the fore with four from play.

After 21 minutes, Sarsfields led by 13 points before Éire Óg  began to find some rhythm with Ronan O’Brien hitting three points from play and Tipp goalie Daragh Mooney nailing four long range frees to cut the deficit to nine by the break, 0-18 to 0-9.

Éire Óg stuck gamely to their task with Ronan O’Brien superb finishing with six points from play but the second half was played in a challenge match atmosphere.

Thurles knew they had the job done with Stephen Cahill and John Maher effective, while they could afford to empty their bench and Lar Corbett didn’t get a run.

Annacarty finished the game with fourteen men after Tom Fox picked up his second yellow card late on while substitute Rory Purcell and Billy McCarthy rounded off a 12 player scoring contribution for Sarsfields.

They now progress to meet Borris-Ileigh in the final on Sunday 8 October.

Scorers for Thurles Sarsfields: Pa Bourke 0-9 (0-7f), Aidan McCormack 0-5 (0-1f), Ronan Maher, John Maher, Rory Purcell 0-2 each, Denis Maher, Stephen Maher, Michael Cahill, Stephen Lillis, Stephen Cahill, Billy McCarthy, Conor Stakelum 0-1 each.

Scorers for Éire Óg: Ronan O’Brien 0-6; Daragh Mooney 0-5 (0-5f), Seanie Ryan 0-3 (0-2f), Tom Fox, Brian Fox, Donal O’Dwyer, Connie Bradshaw 0-1 each.

Thurles Sarsfields

Paddy McCormack

Stephen Maher
Cathal Moloney
Michael Cahill

Ronan Maher
Padraic Maher
Stephen Lillis

Stephen Cahill
John Maher

Aidan McCormack
Billy McCarthy
Pa Bourke

Conor Lanigan
Denis Maher
Conor Stakelum


Michael O’Brien for Denis Maher (half-time)
Rory Dwan for Lillis (42)
Tommy Doyle for S Cahill (47)
Rory Purcell for J Maher (55)
Mossy McCormack for Stakelum (60)

Éire Óg Annacarty

Daragh Mooney

Diarmuid Ryan
Eoin Bradshaw
Dan Hogan

Stephen O’Brien
Brian Fox
Paidi O’Dwyer

Michael O’Brien
Tom Fox

Paul Downey
Kevin Fox
Ronan O’Brien

Dinny Crosse
Donal O’Dwyer
Seanie Ryan


Pat Aherne for M O’Brien (42)
Connie Bradshaw for Crosse (46)

Referee: Michael Murphy (Toomevara)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Brendan Maher inspires Borris-Ileigh to first Tipperary SHC final in 29 years

Fourth time lucky! Dublin goals key against Mayo as they storm to All-Ireland glory

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Shane Brophy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel