Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 9°C
# Goals Galore
Seventh-heaven! Tipperary minors maul Galway to book their place in All-Ireland final
The Premier County booked their place in the final after putting seven goals past Galway in a wonderful display.

Tipperary 7-12

Galway 2-12

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

TIPPERARY WILL MEET Limerick in the All-Ireland MHC final after they produced a demolition job on Galway in today’s semi-final at Croke Park.

Cian Darcy celebrates his goal Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

The Premier County gained revenge for their defeat to Galway in last year’s All-Ireland final in serious style, smashing home  seven goals of the highest quality.

Cian Darcy was the star man with 3-2, while Rian Doody and Mark Kehoe were also devastating along side him in the Tipp forward line.

Ger Browne with Enda Fahy Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

Galway were forced to abandon the sweeper system at the beginning of the second-half, after they shipped three goals despite the aid of Ian O’Brien as a seventh defender.

Darcy, Doody and Kehoe all raised the green flash inside the opening half hour, ensuring Galway had a rethink at the interval. The Tribesmen went conventional, but they couldn’t deal with Tipp’s powerful attack.

The winners sliced through Galway’s defence at will after the break as Darcy (two), Doody and Ger Browne all adding to the Connacht side’s woe with three-pointers.

Scorers for Tipperary: Cian Darcy 3-2, Rian Doody 2-2 (0-1f), Mark Kehoe 1-4, Ger Browne 1-1,  Lydon Fairbrother, Brian McGrath (free) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Evan Niland 0-5 (0-4 frees), Michael Whelan (own goal), Ronan Murphy 1-0 each,  Liam Forde, Enda Fahy, Cianan Fahey, Jack Coyne, Kevin Cooney, Jack Canning 0-1 each.


1. Ciarán Barrett – Clonmel Óg

2. Killian O’Dwyer – Killenaule
3. Michael Whelan – Carrick Davins
4. Tom Murphy – J.K. Brackens

5. Cian Flanagan – Newport
6. Brian McGrath (Capt.) – Loughmore-Castleiney
7. Jerome Cahill – Kilruane MacDonaghs

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

8. Paddy Cadell – J.K. Brackens
9. Ger Browne – Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams

10. Rian Doody – Cappawhite
11. Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg
12. Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s

13. Cian Darcy – Kilruane MacDonaghs
14. Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash
15. Lyndon Fairbrother – J.K. Brackens

Subs: D Walsh for English (h.t.), S Neville (0-01) for Morris (45), D Ryan for Dunne (51), C Stakelum for Fairbrother (53), J Kelly for Whelan (57).


1. Jack Forde (Liam Mellows)

2. Stephen Molloy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
3. Jack Fitzpatrick (Killimordaly)
4. Ronan O’Neill (Padraig Pearses)

5. Ian O’Brien (Athenry)

7. Patrick Foley (Clarinbridge)
6. Cianan Fahy (Ardrahan)
24. Rian Maher (Oranmore Maree)

8. Jack Coyne (Castlegar)
9. Enda Fahy (Kilbeacanty)

13. Kevin Cooney (Sarsfields)
12. Liam Forde (Ardrahan)
10. Jack Canning (Portumna)

11. Evan Niland (Clarinbridge)
15. Michael Lynch (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)

Subs: C Salmon for Lynch (33), R Malone for P Foley (36), I O’Shea for Glennon (38), R Murphy (1-00) for Cooney (45), R O’Neill for E Fahy (51).


Referee: C McAllister (Cork)

LIVE: Tipperary v Galway, All-Ireland SHC semi-final

‘Devastation because these chances don’t come along too often’ – Waterford miss out

Your Voice
Readers Comments