Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -1°C Tuesday 2 March 2021

Late free, controversial goal, red card - Waterford and Tipperary play out dramatic draw

10,237 were present in the Gaelic Grounds for today’s encounter.

Tipperary 2-22
Waterford 2-22

Fintan O’Toole reports from Gaelic Grounds

TIPPERARY HAULED THEMSELVES back from 11 points down to claim a draw against Waterford at the Gaelic Grounds today but a controversial goal was at the centre of the revival for Michael Ryan’s side.

Conor Gleeson and John McGrath Conor Gleeson and John McGrath battling for possession. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Jason Forde’s long-range free in the 62nd minute saw the sliotar slip from the fingers of Austin Gleeson in the goalmouth with the umpire judging that it had crossed the line.

Television replays showed that Waterford were rightly aggrieved but Tipperary’s remarkable spirit saw them grind out a draw with injury-time points from Ronan Maher and Forde bringing the sides level.

Tipperary had played the entire second half with 14 men after defender Michael Cahill was shown a second yellow card just before the break.

Waterford had received two crucial first-half boosts in the form of goals. Both were products of long deliveries that caused chaos in the Tipperary goalmouth. Tom Devine swiped home the first with a one-handed pull in the 9th minute and Pauric Mahony positioned himself perfectly to drill home a shot in the 25th minute after Pauric Maher batted the ball clear.

That Mahony strike came at a key time after Tipperary had outscored Waterford by 0-7 to 0-1 between the 14th and 23rd minutes to cut the deficit to a single point.

Michael Cahill looks on from the bench after he was red carded Tipperary defender Michael Cahill looks on after he was dismissed. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Waterford were in front 2-12 to 0-12 at the interval after making light of their absentees due to injuries and suspension. They began the second half brightly as they hit the first four points and when substitute Tommy Ryan launched over a 54th minute point, Waterford had surged in front 2-20 to 0-15 and were clear by eleven.

Tipperary mounted a superb comeback with Patrick Maher lashing home a 58th minute goal and then they fortuitously saw a green flag awarded again four minutes later. Waterford may have thought they had weathered the storm and Jake Dillon seemingly popped over the insurance point in the 72nd minute.

But Tipperary were not to be denied with Maher and Forde notching the late scores to ensure they salvaged something from the afternoon.

Dan Shanahan confronts the umpires after the game Waterford's Dan Shanahan confronts the umpires after the game.

Scorers for Tipperary: Jason Forde 1-14 (1-12f), Ronan Maher 0-3, Patrick Maher 1-0, Seamus Callanan 0-2, Noel McGrath, Billy McCarthy, Cathal Barrett 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 1-8 (0-5f), Tom Devine 1-2, DJ Foran, Jamie Barron 0-3 each, Patrick Curran 0-2, Philip Mahony, Stephen Bennett, Tommy Ryan, Jake Dillon 0-1 each.


1. Brian Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha)

2. Sean O’Brien (Newport)
3. Séamus Kennedy (St Mary’s Clonmel)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Joe O’Dwyer (Killenaule)
6. Padraic Maher, captain (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)

8. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
9. Billy McCarthy (Thurles Sarsfields)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Jason Forde (Silvermines)
13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

12. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom-Inch)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)


25. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha) for O’Dwyer (46)
17. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Noel McGrath (54)
26. Jake Morris (Nenagh Éire Óg) for John McGrath (59)
21. Seán Curran (Mullinahone) for McCormack (60)
20. Willie Connors (Kiladangan) for McCarthy (68)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

3. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
9. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
11. Stephen Roche (Mount Sion)

20. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
15. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
12. DJ Foran (Portlaw)

13. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
10. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)
14. Tom Devine (Modeligo)


23. Tommy Ryan (Tallow) for Kearney (47)
24. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Curran (54)
22. Jake Dillon (De La Salle) for Foran (59)
5. Colin Dunford (Colligan) for Roche (62)
17. Shane McNulty (De La Salle) for Connors (66)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Hayes point grabs draw for 14-man Limerick in Munster hurling thriller against Cork

John Kiely: ‘I feel like issuing a photograph of the state of his rib cage after what was done’

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel