INPHO/James Crombie Kerry U21 boss Darragh O'Sé.
# starting XV
Darragh Ó Sé names Kerry U21 side for Munster clash
The Tipperary and Waterford U21 football sides have also been selected for Wednesday night’s clash.

Updated 18.34pm

DARRAGH Ó SÉ  will make his managerial debut with the Kerry U21′s on Wednesday night and has named three current senior panellists in his side to face Cork.

The Kingdom travel to Páirc Uí Rinn to face the Rebels in the opening round of the Cadbury’s Munster U21FC.

They will be bidding to avenge last year’s final defeat in Tralee, a game where the former midfield legend Ó Sé served as a a Kerry selector alongside current senior manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice.

Full-back David Culhane, midfielder James Walsh and full-forward Conor Cox are the three senior panellists in the U21 side.

Along with Walsh and Cox, the defensive duo of Pa Kilkenny and Fearghal McNamara both started in that final loss to Cork last year at this level while corner-forward Chris Brady, who featured for Dr Crokes in their recent All-Ireland club semi-final loss to Ballymun Kickhams, was also involved.

Mark Reen, who captains the side, Tadhg Morley and Gavin O’Grady were all introduced during that game last year in Austin Stack Park.

A notable inclusion in defence is the highly-rated Padraig Ó Sé at right half-back, who is a first cousin of Darragh and the son of the late Kerry GAA great Páidí.

KERRY: Shane Murphy (Kilcummin); Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar), David Culhane (Ballylongford), Fearghal McNamara (Austin Stacks); Padraig Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht), Tadhg Morley (Templenoe), Marcus Mangan (Milltown Castlemaine); James Walsh (Knocknagoshel), Shaun Keane (Legion); Jason Hickson (Annascaul), Mark Reen (Rathmore), Shane O’Callaghan (Austin Stacks), Gavin O’Grady (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets), Chris Brady (Dr Crokes).

The Kerry substitutes have also been named for Wednesday’s clash which has a throw-in time of 7.30pm.

Subs: Damien Horgan (St Mary’s), Chris Davies (Legion), Eamonn Kiely (Brosna), Kieran Murphy (Kilcummin), Gary O’Leary (Kilcummin), Niall Sheehy (John Mitchels), Ciaran Keating (Skellig Rangers), Kieran O’Mahony (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), Conor Keane (Legion).

Tipperary U21 manager David Power
Pic: INPHO/James Crombie

Meanwhile Tipperary manager David Power has named nine of the 2011 All-Ireland minor winning side for their Cadbury’s Munster U21FC quarter-final against Waterford tomorrow night.

Power, who managed Tipperary to that triumph two years ago, is taking charge of the U21 side for the first time in a game that will be played in Semple Stadium in Thurles at 7.30pm.

He has been able to name several members of that successful minor team with Evan Comerford starting in goal while Niall O’Sullivan, Conor O’Sullivan and team captain Seamus Kennedy start in defence.

Steven O’Brien will partner Dylan Fitzell at midfield while Bill Maher, Liam McGrath and Michael Quinlivan get starting berths in attack.

McGrath, Quinlivan, wing-back John O’Callaghan and centre-forward Donagh Leahy are all currently members of Peter Creedon’s Tipperary senior squad while Kennedy, O’Brien and Maher all played during the McGrath Cup earlier this season.

TIPPERARY: Evan Comerford (Clonmel Commercials); Darragh Kearney (Clonmel Og), Niall O’Sullivan (Moycarkey/Borris), Conor O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers); Padraic O’Meara (Shannon Rovers),  Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials),  John O’Callaghan (Ballyporeen); Steven O’Brien (Ballina), Dylan Fitzell (Cashel King Cormacs); Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash), Donagh Leahy (Arravale Rovers), Shane Leahy (Arravale Rovers); Liam McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), Billy Hewitt (Ardfinnan).

Opponents Waterford have included senior football attackers Paul Whyte and Gavin Nugent in their forward line with Kilrossanty player Whyte to start at full-forward while Rathgormack clubman Nugent will play at wing-forward.

Centre-forward Donie Breathnach has been involved with the Waterford senior hurlers this season as well.

WATERFORD: Sean Barron (Ardmore); Lorcán Ó Corraoin (An Rinn), Darren Foley (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg), Conor Sheridan (Dungarvan); Ross Dunford (Ballinacourty), Ronan Sheehan (Ballinacourty), David Hallahan (Kilmacthomas), Kevin Phelan (Ballinameela), Ray Ó Ceallaigh (An Rinn); Gavin Nugent (Rathgormack), Donie Breathnach (An Rinn), Kevin Sheehan (Sliabh gCua); Michael Kiely (Sliabh gCua), Paul Whyte (Kilrossanty), Shane Ryan (The Nire).

‘It’s a work in progress’ – Gavin not getting carried away after dominant win over Lilywhites