Dublin: 15°C Friday 30 July 2021

Tommy Walsh, Eoin Kelly, JJ Delaney and 13 other hurlers who called it a day in 2014

Cork, Waterford, Offaly, Kilkenny, Tipperary and Wexford players called it a day this year.

1. Eoin Quigley - Wexford

Source: Cathal Noonan

The Wexford hurler called time on a decade-long inter-county career, after winning a glorious Leinster title with his county in 2004.

2. Brian Murphy – Cork

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The Rebels hurler was the last member of the 2005 All-Ireland winning Cork team to depart the squad, when he retired in March. He won All-Ireland medals in 2004 and 2005, Munster medals in 2005 and 2006, along with an Allstar award in 2006.

3. Tony Browne – Waterford

Tony Browne celebrates

The 40-year-old was an incredibly long-serving member of the Deise squad and he was awarded with Hurler of the Year in 1998 and three Allstars, two of them while in his 30s. Browne feature in just one All-Ireland final, which they lost, but won four Munster SHC crowns with his county.

4. Seamus Prendergast - Waterford

Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

The first of a spate of post-season Deise retirements, Prendergast ended his 14-year inter-county career with Waterford in October. Four times a Munster winner and the holder of a NHL title, Prendergast started on Waterford’s half-forward line in their All-Ireland final defeat to Kilkenny.

5. Shane Walsh – Waterford

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The day after Prendergast’s retirement, fellow Waterford hurler Shane Walsh announced his retirement. He won an NHL title in 2007 and Munster crowns in 2007 and 2010.

6. Stephen Molumphy – Waterford

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

An Allstar in 2007, Molumphy claimed Munster honours twice with the Deise and an NHL title. He also played in the 2008 All-Ireland final.

7. Rory Hanniffy – Offaly

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Birr club man Hanniffy spent 14 years with Offaly and made his 45th and final championship appearance for the Faithful during their loss to Tipperary last July. Hanniffy has two Division II medals to his name from 2005 and 2007 and captained his county in 2007. He also won Leinster minor and U21 medals back in 2000.

8. Kevin Brady – Offaly

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Coolderry man Brady also made his final appearance for Offaly in the loss to Tipperary. He made 37 championship appearances for his county and captained Offaly in 2008.

9. Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

The Tullaroan man brought the curtain down on a decorated career last month. He won nine All-Ireland titles, nine Leinster titles and nine Allstars during his 12 years at senior level with the Cats. His Allstar record was particularly impressive as he won nine successive awards between 2003 and 2011 in five different positions.

10. David Herity (Kilkenny)

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Herity won five All-Ireland and Leinster medals with Kilkenny. He started in both the 2011 and 2012 All-Ireland finals, as well as this year’s semi-final win over Limerick. The 31 year-old is from the Dunnamaggin club.

11. Brian Hogan (Kilkenny)

Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Hogan won seven All-Ireland senior medals during his career along with eight Leinster medals and six National league titles. He also won Allstar awards for his Kilkenny defensive displays in 2011 and 2012, while also captaining Kilkenny to win the Liam MacCarthy Cup in 2011.

12. Aidan Fogarty (Kilkenny)

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Fogarty was an eight-time All-Ireland senior winner with Kilkenny. He also won nine Leinster senior medals and eight National Leagues. Fogarty is a member of the Emeralds club.

13. John O’Brien (Tipperary)

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Toomevara player O’Brien won All-Ireland senior hurling medals in 2001 and 2010, while also landing five Munster senior hurling triumphs during this Tipperary career.

14. Eoin Kelly (Tipperary)

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

2010 All-Ireland winning captain Kelly retired in early December. He won five Munster titles, two National League medals and also claimed an All-Ireland medal in 2001. The Mullinahone man was a six-time Allstar winner in 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2010.

15. Stephen Hiney (Dublin)

Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

The Ballyboden St-Enda’s club man retired earlier this month. His main career highlights were winning a Leinster senior title in 2013 and a National League in 2011.

16. JJ Delaney (Kilkenny)

Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

JJ became the Cats legend to retire when he called it a day earlier this month. Delaney joined the Kilkenny panel in 2001 and collected nine All-Ireland senior hurling medals.

He also won 10 Leinster senior hurling medals, 8 National hurling league medals and 5 Walsh Cups. Delaney claimed seven Allstar awards in 2003, 2004, 2006, 2008, 2011, 2012 and 2014 while also winning the Hurler of the Year in 2003.

16 reasons why Waterford’s Tony Browne is a hurling legend

10 of Eoin Kelly’s best scores during his brilliant Tipperary hurling career

Kilkenny teammates, Munster opponents and Gaelic footballers all pay tribute to Tommy Walsh

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel