Tynan takes Tipp into All-Ireland minor football semi-final

The former schools rugby star scored 1-5 in today’s win over Galway.

File photo: Tynan celebrates a hurling win over Limerick.
File photo: Tynan celebrates a hurling win over Limerick.
Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Tipperary 1-10
Galway 0-6

TIPPERARY BOUNCED BACK from their Munster final loss to Kerry to book a place in the semi-finals of the All-Ireland minor football championship at O’Connor Park in Tullamore.

Connacht champions Galway were always chasing the game as Charlie McGeever’s men got top in all of the key positions in the second-half against the disappointing Tribesmen.

Tipperary will now go on to meet Kildare in the All-Ireland semi-final at Croke Park on August 30 when they will bid to reach their first decider since winning the crown in 2011.

There was little between the sides in the opening half but Tipperary edged 0-4 to 0-3 in front just before the break when dual star (and former schools rugby playmaker) Alan Tynan got his second point.

Tipp never lost that lead, but they would have been behind at the break had Galway been able to convert even one of several good goal chances, with wing-back Tadgh Fitzgerald doing well to deny Ryan Forde.

Forde hit the crossbar with another effort, with Fitzgerald again coming to Tipp’s rescue when he blocked the rebound from Patrick O Domhnaill. Galway never recovered from those missed chances and Tipperary were on top for most of the second-half.

Ian Kent and Aidan Buckley Aidan Buckley gets ahead of Galway's Ian Kent. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Tynan extended Tipperary’s lead with another free while at the other end Forde and Paudie McCormack were denied from good goal chances. The Premier centre forward then wrapped it up with the only goal of the game in the closing stages as Galway became the only provincial winners not to make it through to the All-Ireland semi-finals later this month.

Scorers for Tipperary:  Alan Tynan 1-5 (0-2f, 0-1 ’45), Brendan Martin 0-2, Colin English, Jack Kennedy and Jamie Bergin 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Conor Marsden (0-2f), John Daly (0-1f) 0-2 each, Paudie McCormack and Eric Lee 0-1 each.


1. Charlie Manton (Fethard)

4. Tommy Lowry (Arravale Rovers)
7. Jack Skeehan (Hloycross-Ballycahill)
2. Tadhg Fitzgerald (Moyle Rovers)

12. Emmett Moloney (Drom & Inch)
5. Liam Fahy (Rockwell Rovers)
6. Danny Owens (Moyle Rovers)

8. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
9. Tommy Nolan (Drom & Inch)

17. Ross Peters (Clonmel Commercials)
14. Alan Tynan (Inane Rovers)
10. Aidan Buckley (St Patrick’s)

20. Colin English (Fr Sheehy’s)
11. Brian McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
15. Brendan Martin (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

21. Mark Kehoe (Kilsheelan Kilcash) for English (50)
13. Jamie Bergin (Drom & Inch) for Peters (54)
19. Jack Delahunty (Newport) for Martin (58)
22. Michael Connors (Drom & Inch) for Buckley (59)
24. Gavin Whelan (Ardfinnan) for Moloney (61)


1. Ronan Ó’Beolain (Micheal Breathnach)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

2. Caelom Mulry (Monivea/Abbeyknockmoy)
3. Dylan McHugh (Corofin)
4. Ian Kent (Barna)

5. Sean Kelly (Moycullen)
6. Laim O Ceallaigh (An Spideal)
7. John Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)

12. Ciaran Brady (Corofin)
8. Colm O Braonain (Aran Islands)

10. Eric Lee (Oughterard)
11. Finian O Laoi (An Spideal)
13. Michael Boyle (Killererin)

15. Ryan Forde (Annaghdown)
14. Paudie McCormack (An Cheathru Rua)
21. Conor Marsden (Kilconly)


23. Patrick Ó’Domhnaill (Aran Islands) for Ó’Laoí (14)
24. Colin Ryan (Mountbellew/Moylough) for Vaughan (38)
9. Cillian McDaid (Monivea/Abbeyknockmoy) for Forde (55)
17. Desmond Conneely (Moycullen) for Lee (56)

Referee: Martin McNally (Monaghan).

Johnny Doyle: Awesome Kerry, red-hot Dublin and Michael Murphy’s class

Kerry have issued an injury update on James O’Donoghue’s shoulder after his latest setback

Dublin’s dramatic Championship comes to an end as Wexford march in to final 4

About the author:

Bill Kiely

Read next: