Buffon sandwiched between Ronaldo and Messi on three-man Uefa Player of the Year shortlist

Zlatan Ibrahimovic has made it into the top 10, meanwhile.

VETERAN ITALIAN GOALKEEPER Gianluigi Buffon has been named as one of three nominees for the 2016/17 Uefa Men’s Player of the Year Award.

The 39-year-old Buffon was a key member of the Juventus side that reached last season’s Champions League final, but he missed out on a first winner’s medal as the Italians were beaten 4-1 by Ronaldo’s Real Madrid in Cardiff.

Barcelona’s Argentine superstar Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, of European champions Real Madrid and Euro 2016 winners Portugal, make up the shortlist.

It was decided by the 80 coaches of the clubs that played in the Champions League and Europa League group stages, as well as 55 journalists from each of Uefa’s member associations.

Five-time Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi has won the award twice, as has Portuguese forward Ronaldo.

Since its inception in 2011, unlike other similar individual awards, the Uefa accolade has not been totally dominated by Ronaldo and Messi.

Spain midfielder Andres Iniesta won the honour in 2012, followed by French winger Franck Ribery a year later.

Real Madrid, who have lifted the European Cup in three of the past four seasons, had four players in the top 10, with Luka Modric fourth, Toni Kroos fifth and Sergio Ramos seventh.

Argentinian forward Paulo Dybala joined his Juve team-mate Buffon in being named, while Monaco’s rising teenage star Kylian Mbappe, Bayern Munich striker Robert Lewandowski and former Manchester United forward Zlatan Ibrahimovic rounded out the top 10.

Luis Suarez, who scored 37 goals for Barcelona in all competitions last season, missed out, as did his former team-mate Neymar, who has since joined Paris Saint-Germain in a world-record €222 million move.

The remainder of the top 10 looks like this:

4. Luka Modrić (Croatia, Real Madrid)
5. Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid)
6. Paulo Dybala (Argentina, Juventus)
7. Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)
8. Kylian Mbappé (France, Monaco)
9. Robert Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern München)
10. Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden, Manchester United)

Meanwhile, Pernille Harder (Denmark, Linköping and Wolfsburg), Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany, Lyon) and Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Rosengård and Barcelona) are the nominees for the Women’s Player of the Year prize.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

The players who make up the rest of the top ten are:

4. Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Bayern München and Arsenal)
5. Eugénie Le Sommer (France, Lyon)
6. Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)
7. Jackie Groenen (Netherlands, FFC Frankfurt)
8. Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)
9. Jodie Taylor (England, Arsenal)
10. Shanice van de Sanden (Netherlands, Liverpool)

© AFP 2017 

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

RB Leipzig reveal they’ve turned down two Liverpool bids for Keita, hint at sale next summer

‘Something is up’ – Madrid boss Zidane hints that Ronaldo ref push ban not all that it seems

About the author:


Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel