BE PART OF THE TEAM

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Saturday 31 October 2020
Advertisement

Brittany Lang won the US Open last night - you'd think the USGA president would know her name

An awkward trophy presentation followed a final round of high drama and controversy.

ANOTHER CONTROVERSIAL RULES decision overshadowed the finale of last night’s US Women’s Open as American Brittany Lang captured her maiden Major title.

US Womens Open Golf Lang secured her maiden Major last night. Source: Eric Risberg

Anna Nordqvist was penalised two strokes for grounding her club during the three-hole aggregate play-off at Cordevalle Golf Club, but was only notified of the offence a hole later.

The incident occurred at the second play-off hole, the 17th, but Lang and Nordqvist were not notified of the ruling until the third and final hole as officials reviewed the footage.

Swede Nordqvist was hitting out of the bunker when the incident took place, with replays appearing to show her club making contact with the sand, after she and Lang had parred their opening holes.

The penalty paved the way for Lang to ease to victory, sealed with a par at the 18th, having parred the 17th.
https://vine.co/v/5WTugqJqJAi

 

However, it wasn’t the only talking point from a dramatic final round on Sunday.

During the trophy presentation, USGA president Diana Murphy referred to the champion as ‘Bethany’ on more than one occasion.

She later released a statement via the USGA, apologising for the mistake.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

“I would like to apologise to the 2016 U.S. Women’s Open champion, Brittany Lang,” she said.

“During the prize presentation, I mistakenly called her by the wrong name repeatedly. I have expressed my regret to Brittany personally and explained that in the heat of the moment, I became nervous and made these mistakes.

“I appreciate her understanding, and I am sorry that what I said may have taken away from a historic moment for a very deserving champion.”

(If you can’t watch the above video, click here)

A play-off was needed after Lang (71) and Nordqvist (67) stormed up the leaderboard to finish level at six-under through 72 holes.

World number one and New Zealander Lydia Ko faltered to finish tied for third.

Ko led by one shot at the start of the day but a final-round 75 saw the teen sensation end the tournament alongside South Korean trio Amy Yang (73), Ji Eun-hee (74) and Park Sung-hyun (74).

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Noren holds his nerve to give himself the perfect birthday present in Scotland

‘This one’s for you, Dad’ – Monty ready for Open swansong on the course where it all began

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:

COMMENTS (5)