Changing lanes

Double Olympic gold medallist avoids DQ despite getting lost in the middle of 200m race

Veronica Campbell–Brown was adjudged not to have impeded her fellow competitor.

China Athletics Worlds One of these sprinters is in the wrong lane. Mark Schiefelbein / AP/Press Association Images Mark Schiefelbein / AP/Press Association Images / AP/Press Association Images

TWO-TIME OLYMPIC 200m gold medallist Veronica Campbell-Brown has reached the semi-finals of the women’s 200m at the World Athletics Championships today despite running the second half of the race in another competitor’s lane.

The Jamaican had the best start of the eight competitors in heat five but appeared to lose concentration — or perhaps was concentrating too much — when she veered from lane five into lane six with at the end of the bend.

Mike Sam / YouTube

And from another angle:

However, Campbell-Brown avoids disqualification thanks to rule 163.4 of the IAAF rule book which states that a result will stand despite an athlete running in the wrong lane if they cross “in the straight with no material advantage being gained, and no other athlete being jostled or obstructed so as to impede his or her progress.”

– First published 13.18

Two Kenyans fail drug tests at World Athletics Championships

Disappointment for Irish in Beijing, Farah stumbles into 5,000m final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.