Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 2°C
Brian Reilly-Troy/INPHO Wexford Youths' Kylie Murphy.
Shels overlooked as McCarthy, Duggan and Murphy nominated for Player of the Year
The champions’ manager Noel King is nominated for Manager of the Year, however, as is Jessie Stapleton for Young Player of the Year.

GALWAY’S SAVANNAH MCCARTHY, Peamount’s Karen Duggan and Wexford Youths’ Kylie Murphy have been nominated for the Women’s National League Player of the Year award for 2021, while league champions Shelbourne have been left without a nominee.

Shels’ Jessie Stapleton is up for Young Player of the Year, however, along with Wexford duo Ellen Molloy and Aoibheann Clancy.

The winners will be unveiled on 1 December.

Noel King’s Shels won the league title on a dramatic final day of action and King, whose side can complete the double with victory over Wexford in Sunday’s FAI Cup final in Tallaght, has been nominated for the top manager gong. So too have Graham Kelly of DLR Waves and Peamount’s James O’Callaghan.

A Team of the Year will be selected on 1 December while there will also be awards given for Golden Boot, Golden Gloves, U19 Player of the Year and U17 Player of the Year.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Related Tags


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel