Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 2°C Friday 16 April 2021

Young guns: King names U21 squad to face Denmark and Italy

Watford midfielder Sean Murray is one of four uncapped players included in the squad.

Manager Noel King at Abbotstown earlier.
Manager Noel King at Abbotstown earlier.
Image: INPHO/James Crombie

NOEL KING HAS named four uncapped players in his Republic of Ireland U21 squad for the upcoming matches against Denmark and Italy.

Watford’s Sean Murray and Aston Villa winger Samir Carruthers will both link up with the panel after the U19 European Championships elite qualification round, which begins in Portugal on 26 May.

Torquay United’s Eunan O’Kane and John Egan of Sunderland are the other uncapped players included for the friendly against Denmark on 28 May and the European Championship qualifier against Italy on 4 June.

Captain Rob Kiernan has not been included as he is undergoing treatment on an injury, but may join up with the group later.

“We’ve assembled a good squad that we will be looking to build on our previous performances,” King said. “At this stage of the season some players have not played for a couple of weeks so the Denmark game will be extremely important.

“Italy are a very well-prepared side that recently beat Scotland 4-1 in a warm-up game so everything is geared towards being prepared for that fixture.”

Republic of Ireland U21 squad

Ian McLoughlin (MK Dons FC), Aaron McCarey (Wolverhampton Wanderers FC), Mark Connolly (Unattached), Shane Duffy (Everton FC), Greg Cunningham (Manchester City FC), Niall Canavan (Scunthorpe United FC), Lanre Oyebanjo (York City FC), John Egan (Sunderland FC), Jeff Hendrick (Derby County FC), Eunan O’Kane (Torquay United FC), Richie Towell (Hibernian FC – on loan from Celtic FC), Aidan White (Leeds United FC), Conor Clifford (Chelsea FC), Samir Carruthers (Aston Villa FC), Conor Hourihane (Plymouth Argyle FC), Sean Murray (Watford), James Collins (Shrewsbury Town FC), Rhys Murphy (Arsenal FC), Aaron Doran (Inverness Caledonian Thistle FC), Robbie Brady (Manchester United FC).

VIDEO: Eamon Zayed scores again as Persepolis seal Champions League progress

23 days to Euro 2012: Joxer gets a makeover

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: