Dublin: 12°C Monday 23 May 2022

Naomh Eanna seal historic first Wexford hurling title as Ballyhale score late goal to book Kilkenny final

County star Conor McDonald helped himself to two goals for the new Wexford champions.

Conor McDonald scores a goal Naomh Eanna forward Conor McDonald. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

THERE ARE FIRST-time hurling and football champions in Wexford this year after Naomh Eanna claimed their debut title in the small ball code today. 

Competing in their first ever senior final, the Gorey club defeated St Martin’s by 2-11 to 0-13 after two goals from county star Conor McDonald. Yesterday Shelmaliers did likewise in the football decider.

Henry Shefflin’s Ballyhale Shamrocks scored a stoppage-time goal to help them past Erins Own and into the Kilkenny SHC final. They’ll play Bennettsbridge in the decider after today’s 1-16 to 1-15 win.

Colin Fennelly Ballyhale star Colin Fennelly. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

In the Galway SHC quarter-finals, Loughrea were dumped out by Cappataggle after a 0-10 to 1-8 loss in Duggan Park. Champions Liam Mellows also booked their place in the last four with a 2-16 to 0-16 win against Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry at Kenny Park.


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a Member

In the preliminary quarter-final, Clarinbridge defeated Gort by 3-18 to 1-19 to advance. 

Subscribe to our new podcast, Heineken Rugby Weekly on The42, here:

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel