Waterford's Mark O'Brien and Cork's Patrick Collins played key roles today.
winning ways

Kearney the scoring hero as Cork IT brave tough conditions to claim Fitzgibbon Cup victory

CIT saw off St Pat’s on their trip to Drumcondra today.


Cork IT 1-14
DCU-St Patrick’s 0-6

Ciarán Gallagher reports from Drumcondra

CORK IT CLAIMED an 11-point win in testing conditions at DCU-St Patrick’s Drumcondra grounds in Round 2 of the Fitzgibbon Cup this afternoon.

The visitors took advantage of a strong breeze in the first half to go into the break with a 10-point advantage.

Free-taker Michael Kearney of Waterford racked up 1-5 in that period, with all but two of those scores coming from dead balls.

Wind and swirling rain tested the resolve of both sides and a stubborn Pat’s outfit could only reply with three points (all frees) from Billy Ryan .

CIT found the net on 11 minutes after Jerry O’Neill’s sideline ball dropped short in front of the Pat’s goal, with a melee resulting in a penalty converted by Kearney.

Moments later a point from Tipperary’s Andrew Coffey helped the visitors to a 1-5 to no score lead before Ryan opened Pat’s account from a dead ball.

Referee John Keane’s half-time whistle signaled a welcome reprieve from the elements, with Cork IT up by 1-10 to 0-3.

With the wind at their backs in the second half, Pat’s doggedly continued to battle – holding CIT to just four second-half points.

‘Ogie’ Storey – son of the legendary Wexford forward Martin – came close to raising a green flag when seeing his rebound shot blocked by Cork IT keeper Patrick Collins on the resumption, while Pat’s net-minder Killian Dunphy performed similar heroics when saving a second-half Kearney penalty.

Scorers for Cork IT: Michael Kearney 1-6 (1-0 pen, 0-4f), Andrew Coffey 0-3 (0-1f), Jerry O’Neill 0-2, John Buckley, Tomas O’Connor, Conor Kingston 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Pat’s: Billy Ryan 0-5 (0-5f), P Spellacy 0-1.

Cork IT

1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig, Cork)

2. Donnchadh Hartnett (Mountmellick, Laois)
3. Darragh Fanning (Pallasgreen, Limerick)
4. Eoin Healy (Ballymartle, Cork)

5. Kevin Galvin (Clara, Kilkenny)
6. Conor O’Neill (Newcestown, Cork)
7. David Noonan (Glen Rovers, Cork)

8. John Buckley (Lixnaw, Kerry)
9. John Good (Tracton, Cork)

10. Jerry O’Neill (Courcey Rovers, Cork)
11. Michael Kearney (Ballyduff, Waterford)
12. Andrew Coffey (Nenagh Eire Og, Tipperary)

13. Colm Keane (St Finbarr’s, Cork)
14. Michael Cahalane (Bandon, Cork)
15. Tomas O’Connor (Inniscarra, Cork)


18. Conor Kingston (Douglas, Cork) for Keane (47)
21. Kevin Duggan (Galmoy, Kilkenny) for O’Connor (58)

St Pat’s

1. K Dunphy (Kilkenny)

2. R Tubrid (Wexford)
3. D O’Shea (Kilkenny)
4. J Barun (Waterford)

5. C Brady (Dublin)
6. B McDowell (Kilkenny)
7. G Malone (Wexford)

8. R Fitzpatrick (Kilkenny)
9. N Mullins (Kilkenny)

10. P Spellacy (Dublin)
11. B Ryan (Kilkenny)
12. S Morrissey (Kilkenny)

13. J Firman (Wexford)
14. O Storey (Wexford)
15. C Breathnach (Waterford)


F Curran (Waterford) for J Barun (50)
G Kelly (Kilkenny) for C Breathnach (56)
A Cox (Westmeath) for Fitzpatrick (58)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Tipp’s McGrath and Waterford’s Bennett both hit 1-5 as UL reach Fitzgibbon Cup last eight

Waterford forward O’Brien’s goal key as UCC stage comeback to defeat UCD in Fitzgibbon Cup