This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 20 November, 2018

3 players to make senior debut for Tipperary, while Darren Gleeson makes his return

Cork have named an unchanged team for the game.

Image: James Crombie/INPHO

TIPPERARY BOSS MICHAEL Ryan has handed debuts to John Meagher, Willie Ryan & Tommy Heffernan for their trip to play Cork on Sunday.

The Premier also welcome All-Ireland winning goalkeeper Darren Gleeson back to the team for the first time this league campaign.

Gleeson comes in for Darragh Mooney, while John O’Keeffe, Ronan Maher, Michael Breen, Noel McGrath and John O’Dwyer make way.

Meanwhile Cork boss Kieran Kingston has also named his team for the tie.

The Rebels are coming off the back of an impressive 1-21 to 1-13 win over the Deise, and Kingston has opted to start with the same 15 that lined out against Waterford.

There’s a couple of positional changes, as Bill Cooper moves to wing-forward and Dean Brosnan reverts to midfield.


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Willie Ryan(Clonakenny)
6. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy)
7. Padraic Maher (capt; Thurles Sarsfields)

8. Sean Curran (Mullinahone)
9. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines)

13. Tommy Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
14. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
15. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk

2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
9. Dean Brosnan (Glen Rovers)

10. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Welcome return as Cork stalwart and last year’s Player of the Year commits to fold for 2017

Mayo call on a host of All-Ireland winners to begin defence of their U21 crown

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel