Dublin: 10°C Monday 21 June 2021

5 changes to Cork football side to face Waterford in McGrath Cup

It’s a visit to Killarney for the Rebels’ hurlers on Sunday, while the footballers are off to Dungarvan.

Updated 8.30am

PEADAR HEALY HAS made five changes to the Rebels’ football team for their McGrath Cup tie with Waterford in Dungarvan on Sunday at 2pm.

The Cork footballers were one-point winners against Limerick last weekend but their new manager, Peadar Healy, has made five changes for Suday’s trip to Waterford.

Brendan O’Connell replaces Micheál Martin in goal, while Bart Daly and James Loughrey come into the defence at the expense of Lorcan Harrington and Alan O’Donovan.

In attack, Andrew O’Sullivan and Castlehaven’s Mark Collins come in for Shane Beston and Kevin O’Driscoll on the wings.

Mark Collins Mark Collins will start for the Cork footballers against Waterford. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Cork (vs. Waterford, McGrath Cup)

1. Brendan O’Connell (Glanmire)

2. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
3. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
4. Jamie Davis (Douglas)

5. Mark Collins (O’Donovan Rossa)
6. James Loughrey (Mallow)
7. Bart Daly (Newmarket)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
9. Rory Deane (Bantry Blues)

10. Andrew O Sullivan (Castletownbere)
11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
12. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)

13. Dan McEoin (Ilen Rovers)
14. Daniel Goulding (Eire Og)
15. Seamus Hickey (Rockchapel)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


16. Michael Martin (Nemo Rangers)
17. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
18. Lorcan Harrington (Castletownbere)
19. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
20. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
21. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
22. Brian Coughlan (Kinsale)
23. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

Tom McGlinchey Waterford football manager Tom McGlinchey. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Waterford have unveiled their team for the clash which will be their 2016 debut in the McGrath Cup.


1. Sean Barron (Ardmore)

2. Tadhg O’Hullacháin (An Rinn)
3. Thomas O’Gorman (The Nire)
4. Brian Looby (Ballinacourty)

5. Michael Curry (Rathgormack)
6. James McGrath (The Nire)
7. Ray O’Ceallaigh (An Rinn)

8. Conor Prunty (Ballinacourty
9. Tommy Prendergast (Kilrossanty)

10. Michael O’Halloran (Ballinacourty)
11. Donie Breathnach (An Rinn)
12. Declan Allen (Clashmore Kinsalebeg)

13. David Power (Kilrossanty)
14. Paul Whyte (Kilrossanty)
15. Shaun Corcoran (St. Saviours)

‘I don’t expect red carpets rolled out for me’ – the groundbreaking female GAA referee

14 top hurlers and footballers on the comeback trail from injury in 2016

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next: