Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 6°C
INPHO/Cathal Noonan Will Derry be smiling again on Sunday?
# Final Countdown
Here's how Derry and Donegal will line out for the weekend's football league finals
The Oak Leaf show just one change from the side which beat Mayo in the league semis.

Updated 14.00pm

DERRY MANAGER BRIAN McIver has made just one change for Sunday’s National Football League final against Dublin in Croke Park.

Loup’s Aidan McAlynn starts at wing-back in place of Sean Leo McGoldrick who was stretched off with a knee injury during a club game last week.

Mark Lynch, who terrorised the Dubs’ defence with 1-8 when the sides met in Celtic Park last month, captains the Oak Leaf from centre-forward. Dublin are expected to name their starting XV after training tonight.

Donegal have named their team for the Division 2 decider against Monaghan on Sunday. There are 11 survivors from the team that lost to Monaghan in last summer’s Ulster final in Clones with Martin McElhinney, Christy Toye, Ryan McHugh and Odhran MacNiallais the new faces in Jim McGuinness’s starting side.

Throw-in on Sunday is at 4pm.

Derry (SF v Dubin): Thomas Mallon (Loup); Oisín Duffy (Foreglen), Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil), Dermot McBride (Ballinascreen); Kevin Johnson (Dungiven), Gerard O’Kane (Glenullin), Aidan McAlynn (Loup); Fergal Doherty (Bellaghy), Patsy Bradley (Slaughtneil); Enda Lynn (Greenlough), Mark Lynch (Banagher, capt), Ciarán McFaul (Glen); Benny Heron (Ballinascreen), Emmett McGuckin (Magherafelt), Cailean O’Boyle (Lavey).

Substitutes: Eoin McNicholl (Glenullin), Conor McAtamney (Swatragh), Declan Brown (Bellaghy), Charlie Kielt (Kilrea), Mark Craig (Dungiven), Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua), Danny Heavron (Magherafelt), Carlus McWilliams (Ballinascreen), Emmet Bradley (Glen), Declan Mullan (Eoghan Rua), James Kearney (Swatragh).

Donegal (SF v Monaghan): Paul Durcan (Four Masters); Eamon McGee (Gweedore), Neil McGee (Gweedore), Karl Lacey (Four Masters); Frank McGlynn (Glenfin), Leo McLoone (Naomh Conaill), Anthony Thompson (Naomh Conaill); Rory Kavanagh (St Eunan’s), Martin McElhinney (St Michael’s); Christy Toye (St Michael’s), Ryan McHugh (Kilcar), Odhran MacNiallais (Gweedore); Colm McFadden (St Michael’s), Michael Murphy (Glenswilly), Patrick McBrearty (Kilcar).

Planning permission granted for Cork GAA’s €70m redevelopment of Páirc Uí Chaoimh

Here’s the Cavan side for Saturday’s Division 3 football league final against Roscommon

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Your Voice
Readers Comments