Dublin: 12°C Wednesday 29 June 2022

Cheeky free-kick goal for Cooper as All-Ireland champs Dr Crokes storm into another Kerry final

The Gooch hit 1-3 as his side booked their seventh county final spot in nine years.

Colm Cooper (file pic).
Colm Cooper (file pic).
Image: Tom Beary/INPHO

Dr Crokes 5-13

West Kerry 0-14

Jason O’Connor reports from Fitzgerald Stadium, Killarney

ALL-IRELAND SENIOR CLUB Champions Dr Crokes secured their place in another Kerry SFC Final with relative ease as old rivals South Kerry will be the next challenge for the Killarney side come the October 22 decider.

A goal from team captain Daithi Casey in the ninth minute after work for Tony Brosnan and Gavin O’Shea in the build-up gave Crokes a 1-2 to 0-1 advantage. Eanna Ó Conchúir had left a good chance for West Kerry down at the other end two minutes earlier but there was never any real doubt about who would win.

Casey also rattled the crossbar in the 21st minute as Brian Looney and Micheal Burns pitched in with some good scores for the Killarney side. West Kerry lacked the cutting edge to break down their opponents as they went in trailing by 1-9 to 0-5 at half-time.

Colm Cooper was alert to the referee bringing a free forward for dissent three minutes after the restart and fired straight past Tomas Mac an tSaoir without hesitation to further extend Crokes’ advantage. They ran their bench to devastating effect in the second period as substitute Jordan Kiely netted two goals and fellow substitute Paul Clarke found the net as well in a convincing 14 point win.

Dara Ó Sé and Sean M Ó Conchúir did their best for West Kerry in the second-half but they were always up against it as Dr Crokes’ position in the Munster Senior Club Championship is secured with this win regardless of the result of the County Final.

Scorers fr Dr Crokes: Jordan Kiely (2-0), Colm Cooper (1-3, 1-2f), Daithi Casey (1-1) Paul Clarke (1-0), Micheal Burns, Tony Brosnan and Brian Looney (0-2 each), Gavin White, Johnny Buckley and Shane Murphy (‘45) (0-1 each).

West Kerry: Dara Ó Sé (3f) and Sean M Ó Conchúir (2f) (0-5 each), Eanna Ó Conchúir (0-2), Jason Hickson & Alan Fitzgerald (0-1 each)

Dr Crokes:

1. Shane Murphy

2. John Payne
3. Fionn Fitzgerald
4. David O’Leary

17. Michael Moloney
6. Alan O’Sullivan
7. Gavin White

8. Johnny Buckley
9. Daithí Casey

10. Micheál Burns
11. Gavin O’Shea
12. Brian Looney

13. Colm Cooper
20. Luke Quinn
22. Tony Brosnan


24. Paul Clarke for Brian Looney (39)
5. Shane Doolan for Fionn Fitzgerald (BC, 40)
18. Ambrose O’Donovan for Johnny Buckley (44)
23. Jason Lyne for Michael Moloney (BC, 50)
26. Jordan Kiely for Colm Cooper (53)
25. David Shaw for Alan O’Sullivan (58)

West Kerry:

1. Tomas Mac an tSaoir (An Gaeltacht)

2. Colm Ó Muircheartaigh (An Gaeltacht)
3. Cathal Ó Lúing (An Gaeltacht)
4. Cian Ó Murchú (An Gaeltacht)

5. PJ Mac Láimh (An Gaeltacht)
6. Padraig Óg Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht)
7. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Gaeltacht)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

8. Roibeard Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht)
9. Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory)

10. Tomas Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht)
11. Dara Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht)
12. Jason Hickson (Annascaul)

13. Declan Ó Súilleabháin (Lispole)
14. Eanna Ó Conchúir (An Gaeltacht)
15. Seán Micheál Ó Conchúir (An Gaeltacht)


23. Donnacha Higgins (Lispole) for Tomas Ó Sé (18)
20. Cathal Ferriter (Annascaul) for Ó Suilleabháin (36)
17. Andrew Finn (Castlegregory) for Ó Murchú (39)
18. Gearóid Ó Nuanáin (Lispole) for Ó Muircheartaigh (53)
19. Gearóid MacGearailt (Castlegregory) for Mac Láimh (55)
21. Timmy Moriarty (Castlegregory) for Seán M Ó Conchúir (58)

Referee: Brendan Griffin (Clounmacon)
Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

TJ Reid’s Ballyhale edge an extra-time epic against Clara

AFL side reportedly showing ‘genuine interest’ in Galway U21 star

About the author:

Jason O'Connor

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel