1-10 return from teenage forward Burke helps Dublin to victory and Walsh Cup table top spot

Na Fianna club man Donal Burke starred against UCD tonight.

Donal Burke with Paddy Hannon Na Fianna's Donal Burke struck 1-10 for Dublin tonight. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Dublin 2-26
UCD 0-21

Paul Keane reports from Parnell Park

HOLDERS DUBLIN ARE sitting pretty in Group 3 of the Bord na Mona Walsh Cup after a Donal Burke inspired win at Parnell Park.

Last year’s Dubs minor attacker helped himself to 1-10 and backed up his strong showing in the Round 1 win over Carlow.

Caolan Conway with Padraig Guinan It's two wins out of two now in the Walsh Cup for the Dublin hurlers. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The Na Fianna youngster formed an effective full-forward line partnership with Cian O’Sullivan who was a minor last year too and scored an excellent first-half goal here.

UCD started the brighter and moved 0-4 to 0-1 clear after 10 minutes but were dominated by Ger Cunningham’s hosts for the remainder of the first-half.

Burke began a burst of seven points in a row for the Sky Blues and O’Sullivan netted in the 32nd minute to put them in a strong position.

Naomh Brid teenager O’Sullivan scored a fine solo goal against Carlow and repeated the trick this time but on the opposite right wing after fetching a long ball from defence.

Cian O’Sullivan celebrates scoring the first goal of the game Cian O'Sullivan celebrates his goal for Dublin Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Dublin led 1-15 to 0-11 at the break though Nicky English’s students improved after the restart with All-Ireland winning Waterford U-21 star DJ Foran taking his tally to double figures by the 50th minute.

That helped the Belfield outfit to get the margin down to just five points but Dublin responded with three points in a row before Burke added the insurance second goal five minutes from time.

Sub Sean O Riain was hauled down and Burke expertly converted while Caolan Conway and the Quinn brothers, Alex and Ben, hit fine points.

Caolan Conway with Padraig Guinan Dublin followed up last week's win over Carlow tonight. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Donal Burke 1-10 (0-6 frees, 1-0 pen), Cian O’Sullivan 1-1, Alex Quinn, Ben Quinn, Niall McMorrow, Caolan Conway 0-3 each, Fionntán McGibb, Chris Crummey, Fergal Whitely 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCD: DJ Foran 0-11 (0-8f), Oisin O’Rorke 0-4 (0-1f), Darragh Dolan 0-3, Padraic Guinan 0-2, Cian MacGabhann 0-1.

Ger Cunningham Dublin hurling manager Ger Cunningham saw his side win again tonight Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO


1. Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St. Enda’s)

2. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
3. Shane Barrett (Na Fianna)
4. Matthew McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields)

5. Sean McGrath (Kilmacud Crokes)
6. Chris Crummey (Lucan Sarsfields)
7. Ciaran Dowling (Lucan Sarsfields)

8. Caolan Conway (Kilmacud Crokes
9. Ben Quinn (Crumlin)

10. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s)
11. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
12. Fionntán McGibb (Setanta)

13. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s)
14. Donal Burke (Na Fianna)
15. Alex Quinn (Crumlin)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member


F Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes) for C Burke (half-time,)
Mark Kavanagh (St Brigid’s) for Dowling (half-time)
C Robinson for McCaffrey (half-time)
A Moore for O’Sullivan (half-time)
Sean Ó Riain (Setanta) for Conway (58)
Canice Maher (St Jude’s) for A Quinn (63)
Thomas Connolly (St Vincent’s) for D Burke (65)
Johnny McGuirk (St Brigid’s) for McMorrow (68)
Fionn Ó Riain Broin (St Jude’s) for B Quinn 72.


1. Darragh Hughes (Naomh Eanna – Wexford)

2. Eddie Hayden (Ballygunner – Waterford)
3. Paddy Hannon (Athenry – Galway)
4. Rory Dwan (Thurles Sarsfields – Tipperary)

5. Huw Lalor (O’Loughlin Gaels – Kilkenny)
6. Tadhg De Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg – Waterford)
7. Cian MacGabhann (Kilmacud Crokes – Tipperary)

8. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens – Kilkenny)
9. Brian Quigley (Rathnure – Wexford)

10. DJ Foran (Portlaw – Waterford)
11. Darragh Dolan (Cappataggle – Galway)
12. Padraig Guinan (Drumcullen – Offaly)

13. Michael Brennan (St Patrick’s – Kilkenny)
14. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes – Dublin)
15. John Joe Ryan (Tipperary)


R McEvoy for Ryan (half-time)
C Keane for Brennan (45)
M Cronin for de Burca (47)
J Houlihan for Lalor (62)
J Power for Foran (63)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Champions Ardscoil Rís force quarter-final replay as Nenagh CBS claim extra-time win

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next: