Advertisement
Wroclaw's Municipal Stadium, where the Czech Republic beat Greece 2-1 last night. John Walton/EMPICS Sport
AS IT HAPPENED

As it happened: Euro 2012, day 6

Another day, another pair of mouth-watering games to look forward to — but before that, we had all of the day’s news from Poland and Ukraine.

ANOTHER DAY, ANOTHER pair of mouth-watering games to look forward to — but before that, stay here for all of the day’s news from Poland and Ukraine.

Join in the fun. Send us your best pics, videos, tweets, stories, rumours — whatever. Leave a comment below, post to our Facebook wall, tweet @thescore_ie or send us a good old fashioned e-mail to sport@thescore.ie.

Morning all and welcome to today’s Euro 2012 liveblog. It’s day six in Poland and Ukraine and there’s already a sense that football fans have been spoiled by the quality of action on show so far at the tournament.

Last night’s doozy between Poland and Russia was no exception — although the action on the field was marred by trouble off it with Warsaw police confirming 184 arrests and 11 injuries following clashes between rival “fans”.

There are two more dingers to look forward to tonight when Group B resumes. It’s Denmark v Portugal at 5pm and old friends Holland and Germany at 7.45pm.

But before that we’ll have all of the news and rolling updates throughout the day so stay here with us right here.

Before we get down to the real business of the day, how about another look at Polish skipper Jakub Blaszczykowski’s stunning equaliser against the Russians last night? Woof.

YouTube Credit: tomek126666

For the record, I spelled “Blaszczykowski” from memory. And again just there. That’s two in a row.

Of course, we’ll have one-and-a-half eyes on the Irish camp in Gdynia ahead of tomorrow’s crunch clash against World and European champions Spain.

Giovanni Trapattoni was expected to name his starting XI at a press conference this afternoon but the early buzz from the Irish press pack is that might not happen now. Very interesting.

In other more important news — one of our favourite Irish flags at Euro 2012 has made it on to the front page of German newspaper Bild. I can only presume that they got the joke?

H/T to the lads over at Balls.ie for picking up on this. And to Anthony McGuinness for reminding us that it was probably inspired by this sign from Brazil-South Korea at the 2010 World Cup.

If you’re looking for some light reading with your 11:00 cup of coffee, how about Miguel Delaney’s review of day 5 at the Euros:

Today was the perfect proof of how futile it can be to try and judge an international team’s form. Consider the following merry-go-round. In the Euro 2012 qualifiers, Greece made Croatia look exceptionally ordinary. This, in turn, made Ireland overly optimistic. By Sunday night, Croatia were making Ireland look less than ordinary. Of course, Ireland’s optimism had also been boosted by the draw against the Czech Republic that only perpetuated a long unbeaten run. Last week, the Czechs were absolutely eviscerated by Russia… until they themselves came full circle and beat Greece.

Read the article in full here >

Attaboy Coxy — whatever about walking the walk in Gdansk tomorrow night, the Irish lads are certainly talking the talk. This kind of optimism is infectious.

We already have a winner for best Euro 2012 video of the day — pretty confident this can’t be beaten. Last night in Gdansk, Kevin Kilbane rapped ‘Ice Ice Baby’ for the assembled Irish fans… and it is brilliant.

Thankfully, BBC’s Conor McNamara was on hand to capture the moment.

Alright so, it’s time for today’s big Euro 2012 poll. Here’s what we want to know and it’s a big ‘un: should Trap drop Robbie Keane for the Spain game tomorrow?

Ooooh, controversial. And judging by the early votes, it’s a pretty divisive topic.

Pop along here to have your say and see if you can turn the tide for/against el capitan.

Yikes, what has Wayne Rooney done to his hair? This pic was taken earlier today at England’s training session in the Stadion Suche Stawy in Krakow.

(Owen Humphreys/PA Wire/Press Association Images)

Uh oh. Remember that Eamon Keegan photo from yesterday? Well, um, it has been spotted by the Croatian culture ministry who employ one of the two ladies pictured with the Irish fan from Kildare. They don’t seem too pleased about the whole thing:

Croatian newspaper Vecernji List reports that Jelena Miksa, a Croatian civil servant, was one of the two jubilant fans in the now-famous photo.

But the culture ministry, where Miksa works as a clerk, was not amused and said the young woman could be sanctioned for breaking the code of conduct of public employees.

Read the article in full here >

We’ve had a quick check in today’s Euro 2012 poll and here are the results so far:

• 51% think Robbie should be dropped for tomorrow night’s game
  • 34% think he should start
  • 12% don’t know/don’t care

You can pop over to the poll page here to have your say and leave a comment.

BREAKING: Some serious news just in from the England camp. Their players have a night off tonight.

From the Guardian’s Euro 2012 blog:

Word from Spain is that Vicente del Bosque has got it into his head that Ireland are vulnerable defensively … and that the man to exploit that is Fernando Torres. There are also suggestions that Jesus Navas will be given a chance to test himself againt Stephen Ward. These are not facts, just rumours from the Spanish media.

Pin it up on the dressing room wall.

Afternoon, ladies and gents. Niall has wheeled away from the screen celebrating like a black-haired Ravanelli having completed with aplomb, his portion of the daily liveblog. So I, Sean Farrell, am here to take you right through to this afternoon’s kick off (and beyond).

Meanwhile, in eastern Europe: Our Irish fan in Poznan, Cian O’Callaghan, has plotted a route north to Gdansk.

Read the full harrowing tale of Pimms, Cigars and the bouncy bit between carriages here. That Spain game is creeping up on us you know.

Once upon a time the inflatable hammer was the choice of  the humble travelling fan. But with airlines becoming more and more stringent, masks are the new weapon of choice.

Here’s Keano and Mrs. Keano en route to glorious Gdansk.

We’re used to seeing Don Giovanni nicely turned out in a well-fitting suit. This is not that…

As you no doubt have already read this morning. Trap – yes, yer man whose face adorns that red dress below – is expecting Spain to revert to a more conventional system tomorrow: Fernando Torres playing up front as an actual ’9′ rather than having Cesc Fabregas as a pretend one.

However, AFP reported this morning that Vicente Del Bosque will change the system, but it will involve Alvaro Negredo playing with a strike partner.

Negredo reportedly played in the first-choice line up alongside Torres today and with Fernando Llorente yesterday.

From no strikers to two? Those Spaniards haven’t a clue what they’re at.

You may have noticed by now that former Ireland and Liverpool winger, Michael Robinson, has likened the boys in green upcoming task as being: like ‘Muhammad Ali versus a dwarf’.

A red rag to a bull, or at least a bullish dwarf.

Always keen to defend small folk, @Cormacpro has gratefully accepted the gauntlet and raised it high above his head before charging back at Robinson with these latter day examples of David v Goliath.

YouTube credit: gr8footy

YouTube credit: lostlyrics

Ahead of their date with destiny in Gdansk…. Snow Patrol popped by to say ‘hullo’ to the boys in green.

Say the first thing that comes into your head when you see this.

Via FAI’s Facebook page.

Trap isn’t naming his starting XI until tomorrow, but he continues to bemuse the assembled English press in ways that our hacks can barely remember.

As Ben Blake prepares to take you minute-by-minute through Portugal’s make or break game against the Danes (find that here), here’s a little reminder from way out east as to the the importance football can bring to a nation.

Never more so than when you salvage a draw against your nearest and dearest neighbour.

Jakub Blaszczykowski adorns the front of every Polish national paper.

H/T @BryanAGraham

Expect something similar after Damien Duff cuts in off the right flank and blasts one into the top corner tomorrow.

Well folks, with half time having just arrived in Lviv (Portugal are leading Denmark 2-1) we leave you with this improbable stat from OptaJoao.

The man is a legend.

Be sure to see if he can add to that improbable tally in the second half. I will be picking up another liveblog – the big one- at around half seven when the Netherlands meet Germany.

Should be tasty.

Euro 2012: 184 arrested in Warsaw violence

Euro 2012: Day 5 talking points

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.