Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 13 April 2021

FIFA names its shortlist for Women's World Player of the Year

Brazilian ace Marta, a five-time winner of the award, and fan favourite Hope Solo are among those nominated.

Hope Solo: coming to terms with defeat in the Women's World Cup final.
Hope Solo: coming to terms with defeat in the Women's World Cup final.
Image: Martin Meissner/AP/Press Association Images

UNITED STATES GOALKEEPER  Hope Solo and forward Abby Wambach were nominated on Tuesday for the 2011 FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award, competing with five-time winner Marta of Brazil.

Japan, the 2011 Women’s World Cup winner, has Homare Sawa, the player of the tournament and top scorer in Germany, and Aya Miyama on the shortlist of 10 candidates.
U.S. forward Alex Morgan is the third member of the World Cup runner-up team to be nominated. France playmaker Louisa Necib also made the list chosen by FIFA officials and journalists selected by France Football magazine.

Marta, who helped the Western New York Flash win the Women’s Professional Soccer title last season, is seeking to win the FIFA award for a sixth straight year. She is the only player selected from the Brazil squad eliminated by the U.S. in the World Cup quarterfinals.

Japan coach Norio Sasaki and the U.S. team’s Swedish coach Pia Sundhage are among 10 candidates for the best coach of a women’s team in 2011. Sasaki is one of seven men on the list.

Award organizers FIFA and France Football magazine will reveal the final three candidates on Dec. 5.

FIFA will announce the 10-candidate lists next Tuesday for the men’s Golden Ball and best coach awards

The winners will be announced Jan. 9 at the FIFA Gala in Zurich.

Voting is by national team coaches and captains plus selected journalists.

Wales drop two places in latest rugby world ranking>

Stevie G says Harry could do a job for England>

Welsh star Thomas retires from all forms of rugby>

About the author:

Associated Press

Read next: