Dublin: 13°C Sunday 20 June 2021

Champions Galway on course to retain title after overcoming Roscommon

Meanwhile, Sligo beat Leitrim 3-12 to 3-7 to set up a clash in the final against the Tribesmen.

General view of a Galway flag (file pic).
General view of a Galway flag (file pic).
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Updated at 21.49

Galway 1-13

Roscommon 1-6

John Fallon reports from Pearse Stadium

CHAMPIONS GALWAY REMAIN on course for a third Connacht MFC title in a row after seeing off the gutsy challenge of Roscommon in Salthill.

Galway came good in the second half to book their place in the decider back at Pearse Stadium on Sunday week when they will take on Sligo.

The sides turned around level at the break at 0-5 to 1-2 after Roscommon struck for a fine goal five minutes from the interval.

Galway were leading by 0-3 to 0-2 when Cathal Heneghan worked his way in from the right to set up Brian Derwin and the St Brigid’s man blasted to the net.

But Galway hit back and drew level with points from wing-back Liam Boyle and another from Harlowe to leave them all square at the interval.

Galway failed to make early dominance count before Matthias Barrett finally got them off the mark after eight minutes.

Roscommon responded with points from Derwin and Ronan Dowd.

Silke and Harlowe pointed for Galway to lead by 0-3 to 0-2 eight minutes from the break before Derwin found the net.

Galway made a good start to the second-half with Evan Murphy pointing a free and then wing-back Boyle got his second after a goal effort from Rory Cunningham hit the post.

But Roscommon hit back with Derwin landing a free before he kicked the equaliser with a superb effort from play on the right.

A Padraic Costello point for Galway was followed by a brace for Roscommon from Dowd and Sean Henry to push them 1-6 to 0-8 in front but they didn’t score again after that as Galway took control.

The Tribesmen hit four points without reply and then wrapped up the issue when sub Conor Newell found the net three minutes from time.

Meanwhile, elsewhere tonight in the other minor semi in Connacht, Sligo beat Leitrim 3-12 to 3-7 to set up a clash in the final against Galway.

A Jordan Reynolds goal helped Leitrim secure a 1-4 to 0-5 half-time lead.

It then became a high-scoring affair after the break. Oisin McLoughlin registered a second goal for Leitrim, but Red Óg Murphy and Evan Lavin also found the net for Sligo, with the game finely balanced at 2-6 apiece at one stage in the second half.

A Ryan Walsh goal gave his side some breathing space, before McLoughlin hit back with his second three-pointer of the night.

However, it was Sligo who finished the stronger and ultimately ensured their place in the final, winning by a margin of five points.

Galway: C Newell 1-0, L Boyle 0-3, B Harlowe 0-2,P Costello 0-2 (1f), E Murphy 0-1 (f), D Silke 0-1, C Campbell 0-1, M Barrett 0-1, D Silke 0-1, E McFadden 0-1

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Roscommon: B Derwin 1-3 (0-2f), R Dowd 0-2, S Henry 0-1


1 Oran Burke (Corofin)

2 Eoin McFadden (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
3 Sean Mulkerrin (c) (Oileain Arainn)
9 Sean Fitzgerald (Bearna)

5 Jack Glynn (Claregalway)
4 Gavin Burke (Corofin)
7 Liam Boyle (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)

8 Matthias Barrett (Leitir Mór)
12 Martin Kerrigan (Clonbur)

10 Brian Harlowe (St Michael’s)
14 Evan Murphy (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
6 Ciaran Potter (Annaghdown)

13 Rory Cunningham (St Brendan’s)
15 Padraic Costello (Dunmore MacHales)
11 Darragh Silke (Corofin)

18 Conor Campbell (Claregalway) for Potter (41)
23 Conor Newell (Corofin) for Cunningham (49)
22 Matthew Tierney (Oughterard) for Silke (59)
20 Conor Walsh (Claregalway) for Murphy (62)


1 Aaron Brady (Elphin)

2 Pauric Halpin (St Barry’s)
3 Evan Flynn (Tulsk)
4 Gerry Galvin (Tulsk)

7 Donnacha Gately (St Brigid’s)
9 Dylan Ruane (Michael Glavey’s)
5 Paul McManus (Clann na nGael)

8 Cian Corcoran (Strokestown)
6 Conall Kennelly (St Faithleach’s)

10 Oisin Lennon (Clann na nGael)
11 Cathal Heneghan (Michael Glavey’s)
12 Sean Henry (Clann na nGael)

13 Ronan Dowd (St Ciaran’s)
14 Brian Derwin (St Brigid’s)
15 Callum Fahey (c) (Tulsk)

22 Paul Carey (Padraig Pearses) for Fahey (41)
19 Sean Hanley (Castlerea) for Lennon (53)
17 John Martin (Oran) for Ruane (56)
20 Michael Conroy (Castlerea) for Halpin (58 black card)
23 Andrew Lyons (Castlerea) for Carey (60)

Referee: Eamonn O’Grady (Leitrim).

Additional reporting by Paul Fennessy

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Injury blow for Dublin hurlers ahead of All-Ireland qualifier with Laois>

‘There probably was a bit of destiny there’: Jack O’Connor more than happy to follow a well-worn path>

About the author:

John Fallon

Read next: