Land down under

Ireland squad start countdown in Melbourne to Sunday's first game in Adelaide

Joe Kernan and his squad are getting set to face Australia.

IRELAND’S INTERNATIONAL RULES squad have begun their preparations in Australia for the start of the 2017 two-game series in Adelaide next Sunday.

The Irish players and management landed in Melbourne yesterday before having their first training session today at Wesley College in the city.

They will remain in Melbourne until Thursday before flying to Adelaide for next Sunday’s match against Australia.

Ireland squad start countdown in Melbourne to Sunday's first game in Adelaide
1 / 15
  • Ireland manager Joe Kernan with Galway's Shane Walsh

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Tyrone's Niall Sludden and Kerry's Peter Crowley

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Sligo's Niall Murphy, Donegal's Michael Murphy and Mayo's Brendan Harrison arrive

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Kerry's Paul Geaney and Cork's Sean Powter

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • The Irish players getting ready for action.

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • The Ireland International Rules squad first training session took place today.

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Wesley College in Melbourne hosted Ireland's training session

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • The Ireland squad are in Melbourne until Thursday.

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Ireland's first match takes place in Adelaide next Sunday.

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Tyrone's Niall Sludden

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Cork's Eoin Cadogan

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Sligo's Niall Murphy and Roscommon's Enda Smith

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Ireland players getting set for Sunday's game.

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Donegal's Michael Murphy with Monaghan's Conor McManus

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO
  • Mayo's Chris Barrett

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The Adelaide Oval is the venue for a game that starts at 5.10am Irish time (live TV coverage RTÉ 2), before the second game in the series is held in Perth on Saturday 18 November.

Sunday will mark the first time that an International Rules match is held in Adelaide since 2001.

Joe Kernan and his management team of Pádraic Joyce, Darragh Ó Sé and Dermot Earley have assembled a 23-man squad drawn from 15 counties.

Captain Aidan O’Shea and Killian Clarke are both set to land today to join the rest of the Irish setup.

Here’s the Ireland squad in full:

Goalkeeper (1)

Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Defenders (9)

Chris Barrett (Mayo)
Eoin Cadogan (Cork)
Killian Clarke (Cavan)
Peter Crowley (Kerry)
Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
Paul Murphy (Kerry)
Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)
Zach Tuohy (Laois)
Sean Powter (Cork)

Midfielders (6)

Kevin Feely (Kildare)
Pearce Hanley (Gold Coast/Mayo)
Michael Murphy* (Donegal)
Aidan O’Shea* (Mayo)
Enda Smith* (Roscommon)
Gary Brennan (Clare)

Forwards (7)

Paul Geaney (Kerry)
Conor Mc Manus (Monaghan)
Niall Murphy (Sligo)
Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)
Shane Walsh (Galway)
Niall Sludden (Tyrone)
Niall Grimley (Armagh)

*Could also play in attack

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

‘It could be carnage’: CPA issue warning over Master Fixtures Plan

Derek McGrath to stay in charge of Waterford hurlers for a fifth season

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel