Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Saturday 16 January 2021

Kerry reign supreme for third successive year as Cox stars in Meath win

The Kingdom were too strong for Meath as they won the All-Ireland Junior Football championship for the 18th time this afternoon.

Conor Cox was the star of the show for Kerry.
Conor Cox was the star of the show for Kerry.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Kerry 2-19

Meath 1-14

A THIRD CONSECUTIVE All-Ireland Junior Football title for Kerry saw them go ahead of Cork at the top of the roll of honour with 18 titles after they got the better of Meath by eight points this afternoon.

Conor Cox excelled in Kerry’s win with 1-8 as there was some fine scores kicked on both sides.

The Kingdom had a lead of 1-5 to 0-3 after the first quarter, their goal in the 14th
minute coming after Cox pounced on a mistake by Meath goalkeeper Johnny Lynch.

At the other end, Kerry needed a big block by Pa Kilkenny on Adam Flanagan followed by a great save from goalkeeper Tomas Mac an tSaoir on Neil Shortall in the 24th minute to deny the Royals finding a goal themselves.

Ben Brennan kicked some great points, including two 45s, for the Leinster side as the game was still close at 1-8 to 0-7 at half time in Kerry’s favour.

Meath battled hard to stay with Kerry but the defending champions just seemed to
have an answer all the time as Phillip O’Connor floated an inviting high ball into Tomas Ó Sé in the 43rd minute which the corner-forward managed to guide into the net with his fist for a 2-12 to 0-9 advantage.

Substitute James Conlon put over four points for the Royals but there was never any doubt about another Kerry success once they got into their stride.

Eanna Ó Conchúir was sent off for the victors late on as substitute Sean Reilly scored
a late consolation goal for the Royals in defeat.

Kerry scorers: C Cox (1-8, 3f), T Ó Sé (1-2), K Spillane and P O’Connor (0-3 each), P
Kilkenny E Ó Conchúir and I Parker (0-1 each).

Meath scorers: B Brennan (0-6, 2 ‘45’, 1f), J Conlon (0-4), S Reilly (1-0), D Rowe, W Carry, K Ross and D Healy (0-1 each).


1. Tomas Mac an tSaoir (An Gaeltacht)

2. Eamon Kiely (Brosna)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmets)
4. Brian Sugrue (Renard)

5. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
6. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
7. Dan O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Roibéard Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht)
9. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia)

10. Phillip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Éanna Ó Conchúir (An Gaeltacht)

13. Killian Spillane (Templenoe, Capt)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets)
15. Tomás Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht)


17. Liam Carey (Beaufort) for O’Donoghue (38)
21. Micheal Foley (Ballydonoghue) for Kilkenny (51)
18. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe) for Cox (57)
19. Ivan Parker (Churchill) for O’Sullivan (59)
22. PJ Mac Laimh (An Gaeltacht) for Walsh (60)
24. DJ Murphy (Gneeveguilla) for Kiely (60 +2)


1. Johnny Lynch (Moynalty)

2. Adam Lynch (St Colmcilles)
3. Luke Moran (Trim)
4. Michael Flood (St Brigids)

5. David Toner (Curraha)
6. Damien Healy (Longwood)
7. Willie Carry (Drumbaragh)

8. Adam Flanagan (Clonard)
9. Conor Farrell (Dunderry)

10. Neil Shortall (Curraha)
11. Kevin Ross (Castletown)
12. Cathal McConnell (Bective)

20. Jason Scully (Oldcastle)
14. Daire Rowe (Syddan, Capt)
15. Ben Brennan (St Colmcilles)


13. James Conlon (St Colmcilles) for Scully (19)
18. Stephen Coogan (Dunderry) for Ross (41)
21. Seán Reilly (Moylough) for Farrell (46)
17. Ciaran O’Rourke (Trim) for Carry (49)
24. Conor Moriarty (Curraha) for Shortall (52)
20. Jason Scully (Oldcastle) for Rowe (57)

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Derry rally from behind in thriller to edge out Sligo minors in All-Ireland quarter-final

Breffni book first All-Ireland minor semi-final spot since 1974 with late push against Galway

About the author:

Jason O'Connor

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel