Tommy Grealy/INPHO Liam Carey scores despite the block attempt by Paul Mescal.
# Comfortable
Kerry stroll past Kildare into All-Ireland MFC semi-final
The Kingdom had ten points to spare this afternoon.

Kerry 2-15

Kildare 1-8

JACK O’CONNOR’s Munster champions Kerry made light work of Kildare in this afternoon’s Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor football quarter-final at Semple Stadium.

The Kingdom strolled to a ten-point victory over the Lilywhites in front of 2,527 spectators in Thurles.

Kildare finished the game with 14 players when Michael Kelly was dismissed for a second bookable offence in the 48th minute.

Referee Niall Cullen also flashed two black cards – the first to Kildare corner back Sean Healy on the half hour before Kerry’s Micheal Burns followed suit early in the second half.

Cullen could also have issued at least another black card but in fairness to the Fermanagh referee, none of his decisions impacted on the result.

Kerry were simply too good as Tomas O’Se thundered into the game in the final ten minutes.

Shea Ryan netted for Kildare with ten minutes remaining to bring the beaten Leinster finalists to within four points – 1-7 to 1-11.

But after top scorer Killian Spillane pointed for Kerry two minutes later, O’Se brilliantly fetched Brian Rayle’s free, shrugged off two defenders and finished brilliantly for Kerry’s second goal.

O’Se added two more points, with a Spillane free sandwiched in between, as Kerry hit 1-4 without reply to kill the game.

A dejected Jamie Flynn of Kildare is consoled by a supporter at the end of the game Tommy Grealy / INPHO Jamie Flynn is consoled by a supporter after the game. Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO

Kildare were competitive during the early exchanges and with eleven minutes gone, the scores were tied at 0-3 apiece.

But Kerry took over from there, outscoring the Leinster outfit by 1-4 to 0-1 for the remainder of the half.

Jordan Kiely scored the goal for Kerry in the 14th minute, finishing off brilliant work by Spillane, who showed strength cutting in from the endline to set up the chance.

Kerry will now play Mayo in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor semi-final on August 24.

Scorers for Kerry: Killian Spillane 0-6 (5f), Tomas O’Se 1-2, Jordan Kiely 1-0, Micheal Burns 0-3, Liam Carey 0-2, Barry O’Sullivan & Shane Ryan (45), 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kildare: Shea Ryan 1-0, Ben McCormack 0-3 (1f), Sean Dempsey 0-2 (1f, 1 45), Conor Hartley, Michael Kelly & Ethan O’Donoghue 0-1 each.

1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys)
3. Briain O’Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Dan O’Donoghue (Spa)
6. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
7. Brian Sugrue (Renard)

8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
9. Mark O’Connor (Dingle)

10. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
11. Liam Carey (Beaufort)
12. Micheal Burns (Dr. Crokes)

13. Jordan Kiely (Dr. Crokes)
14. Killian Spillane (Templenoe)
15. Tomas O’Se (An Ghaeltacht)

Subs: 18. Brian Rayle (Lispole) for Burns (BC, 38), 17. Liam Kearney (Spa) for O’Connor (42), 20. Robert Wharton (Renard) for Sugrue (49), 19. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe) for Carey (53), 22. Ivan Parker (Churchill) Kiely (58), 24. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue) for O’Donoghue (58).

1. Tadhg Foley (Athy)

2. Sean Healy (Moorefield)
3. Mark Hyland (Athy)
4. Alan Scully (Sarsfields)

5. Jamie Flynn (Round Towers)
6. Paul Mescal (Maynooth)
17. Shea Ryan (Sarsfields)

8. Rory Feely (Athy)
9. Con Kavanagh (Sarsfields)

10. Evan Flynn (Round Towers)
11. Conor Hartley (Sarsfields)
12. Stefan Lawlor (Rathangan)

13. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)
14. Sean Dempsey (Sarsfields)
21. Aaron McConville (Round Towers)

Subs: 18. James Healy (Sarsfields) for S Healy (BC 29), 24. Peadar Murray (Maynooth) for Lawlor (30), 15. Michael Kelly for McConville (30), 22. Ethan O’Donoghue (Clane) for McCormack (42), 19. Matthew Bursey for Feely (56).

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh).

Dublin hold off Cork to claim All-Ireland minor football quarter-final victory

Johnny Doyle: Time-keeping controversy, Kerry’s attacking star and Kildare exit

Your Voice
Readers Comments