Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Monday 19 April 2021

Clare, Tyrone, Cork and Kerry GAA greats all set to feature in the new Laochra Gael season

There’ll also be players in the spotlight from Kilkenny, Dublin, Sligo, Galway, Tipperary and Offaly.

GAA FANS FROM Clare, Tyrone, Kilkenny, Kerry, Cork, Sligo, Dublin, Galway, Tipperary and Offaly will all have a special interest in the new series of Laochra Gael.

pjimage (3) McMahon, Mulligan, Cusack and Ó Cinnéide are all set to get the Laochra Gael treatment. Source: INPHO

The popular programme is set to return for a new season on TG4, with the starting date still to be confirmed.

Here’s the full line-up with hurling, Gaelic football and ladies football players all included.

  • Seanie McMahon (Clare)
  • Owen Mulligan (Tyrone)
  • Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
  • Dara Ó Cinnéide (Kerry)
  • Donal Óg Cusack (Cork)
  • Eamonn O’Hara (Sligo)
  • Cliodhna O’Connor (Dublin)
  • Peter Finnerty (Galway)
  • Pat Fox (Tipperary)
  • The Lowry brothers (Offaly)

Clare, Tyrone, Cork and Kerry GAA greats all set to feature in the new Laochra Gael season
1 / 10
  • Seanie McMahon (St Joseph's Doora Barefield - Clare)

    The centre-back won All-Ireland senior medals in 1995 and 1997 along with three All-Star awards.Source: INPHO
  • Owen Mulligan (Cookstown - Tyrone)

    Mulligan was part of three Tyrone Sam Maguire triumphs and claimed an All-Star in 2005.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan - Kilkenny)

    Walsh enjoyed a remarkable career with nine All-Ireland senior victories and 9 All-Stars.Source: Cathal Noonan
  • Dara Ó Cinnéide (An Ghaeltacht - Kerry)

    Kerry's 2004 All-Ireland winning captain also enjoyed September triumphs in 1997 and 2000.Source: INPHO
  • Donal Óg Cusack (Cloyne - Cork)

    Cusack has three All-Ireland senior hurling medals to his credit along with All-Stars in 1999 and 2006.Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO
  • Eamonn O'Hara (Tourlestrane - Sligo)

    A 2002 All-Star, O'Hara was central to Sligo's memorable Connacht senior football breakthrough in 2007.Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Cliodhna O'Connor (Naomh Mearnóg - Dublin)

    The Dublin goalkeeper was part of their 2010 All-Ireland final victory as well being rewarded with All-Stars in 2004 and 2009.Source: ©INPHO
  • Peter Finnerty (Mullagh - Galway)

    All-Ireland title wins in 1987 and 1988 with Galway along with five All-Stars were the highlights of Finnerty's career.Source: James Meehan/INPHO
  • Pat Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty - Tipperary)

    The attacker helped Tipperary lift the Liam MacCarthy Cup in 1989 and 1991 while his personal exploits were recognised with 3 All-Star awards.Source: James Meehan/INPHO
  • The Lowry brothers (Ferbane - Offaly)

    The Lowry brothers - Sean, Mick and Brendan - were part of Offaly's famous 1982 All-Ireland final win over Kerry. Sean won All-Stars in 1979 and 1982 while Brendan claimed one in 1981.Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel