Dublin: 18°C Saturday 24 July 2021

'Irresistible, ingenious, impudent' Luis Suarez wins football writers' Player of the Year

The Uruguayan has been lauded with praise by the Football Writers association.

Luis Suarez is the 2013/14 PFA and FWA Player of the Year.
Luis Suarez is the 2013/14 PFA and FWA Player of the Year.
Image: PA Wire/Press Association Images

LIVERPOOL AND URUGUAY striker Luis Suarez has won the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Year award.

Suarez, who has scored 30 Premier League goals for the Reds this season, won the accolade after taking 52% of the FWA vote.

Liverpool teammate Steven Gerrard was second and Manchester City’s Yaya Touré came third. More than 300 journalists cast votes for 10 different players with Suarez the clear winner.

FWA chairman Andy Dunn commented, “Tireless endeavour allied to extraordinary imagination makes an irresistible combination. Add ingenious, impudent finishing and you have a footballer who truly quickens the pulse.”

Suarez was also named the PFA Player of the Year, in April. He is expected to attend the awards on 15 May to collect his prize.

‘If Gerrard steps onto the pitch I’ll be making sure to come off with his jersey’ – Finn

Shamrock Rovers team spirit much better than last season – Eamon Zayed

About the author:

Patrick McCarry

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel