Dublin: 13°C Saturday 31 July 2021

Hat-trick for Limerick's Gillane as champions Mary Immaculate storm to 32-point victory

Comfortable win in the Fitzgibbon Cup today for the title holders.

Mary Immaculate College 5-28
Dublin IT 1-8

Ciaran Gallagher reports from Parnells GAA Club

MARY IMMACULATE HAMMERED Dublin IT by 32 points at Parnell’s GAA grounds today as the Limerick college ensured a home quarter-final date in the Fitzgibbon Cup.

Alan Gillane celebrates scoring a goal Patrickswell's Gillane was the scoring star for Mary Immaculate today. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

With the game moved from DIT’s Grangegorman pitch due to last night’s heavy rain, the ‘home’ side never settled into the tie while Jamie Wall’s Mary I were red hot from the opening whistle.

Limerick pair Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane racked up a combined 3-15 between them, with the latter bagging two first-half goals before competing his hat-trick after the break.

Despite being near full strength, DIT managed just three points in the opening period as they looked out of sorts all over the field. In contrast, Mary I could afford to hit eight wides in the first half and still enjoy a 21-point half-time lead (3-15 to 0-3).

Gillane hit the visitors’ first goal from a penalty on 18 minutes and the Patrickswell clubman’s second arrived on 25 minutes before late starter Tadhg Gallagher of Tipperary found the net for a third time.

Sean Brennan with Tadhg Gallagher Tadhg Gallagher hit the net for Mary Immaculate College today. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

A DIT side containing stars such as Wexford’s Jack Guiney, Tipp’s Bill Maher and Kilkenny’s Liam Blanchfield struggled to put any respectability on the scoreline in the second half against their in-form opponents.

Limerick’s Darragh O’Donovan raised a fourth green flag for Mary I five minutes into the half before DIT’s Cian O’Donoghue of Kilkenny responded with a goal for the home side on 38 minutes.

Bill Maher with Colm Galvin Mary Immaculate's Colm Galvin up against DIT's Bill Maher. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

However, any slim chance DIT had of polishing a depressing scoreline evaporated moments later as wing-back Colm Byrne was shown a straight red by referee Brian Gavin for a reckless challenge with the hurley on Lynch.

Gillane completed his hat-trick on 42 minutes after blocking down DIT keeper Seán Brennan of Dublin before sub Thomas Monaghan of Galway racked up four points in the final quarter.

Mary I will host the winners of this evening’s clash between Cork IT and NUIG in the quarter-finals on Tuesday.

Jamie Wall Mary Immaculate manager Jamie Wall Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Scorers for Mary Immaculate: Aaron Gillane 3-9 (1-0 pen, 0-5f), Cian Lynch 0-6, Darragh O’Donovan 1-2, Thomas Monaghan 0-4, Tadhg Gallagher 1-0, Mikey O’Neill 0-2, Alan Flynn, Ronan Maher, Colm Galvin, Luke Meade, David Sweeney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin IT: C O’Donoghue 1-0, C Taylor 0-2 (1f), D McNicholas 0-2f, J Walsh 0-1, J Guiney 0-1f, L Blanchfield 0-1, N Walsh 0-1.

Mary Immaculate

1. Ciaran Barrett (Tipperary/Clonmel Óg)

2. David Sweeney (Tipperary/Kildangan)
3. Richie English (Limerick/Doon)
4. Eoin Quirke (Clare/Whitegate)

5. Conor Twomey (Cork/Newtownshandrum)
6. Ronan Maher (Tipperary/Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Alan Flynn (Tipperary/Kildangan)

8. Colm Galvin (Clare/Clonlara)
9. Stephen Cahill (Tipperary/Thurles Sarsfields)

10. Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick/Doon)
11. Michael O’Neill (Clare/Kilmaley)
12. Aaron Gillane (Limerick/Patrickswell)

17. Tadhg Gallagher (Tipperary/Kildangan)
14. Cian Lynch (Limerick/Patrickswell)
22. Luke Meade (Cork/Newcestown)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


13. Thomas Monaghan (Galway/Cruaghwell) for O’Neill (45)
15. Sean Burke (Cork/Grenagh) for Gallagher (47)
25. Tim O’Mahony (Cork/Newtownshandrum) for Lynch (50)

Dublin IT

1. S Brennan (Dublin)

2. P Reilly (Westmeath)
20. T Doyle (Westmeath)
4. S McClelland (Dublin)

5. Colm Byrne (Dublin)
6. J Guiney (Wexford)
7. J Kelly (Kilkenny)

8. C Taylor (Laois)
9. B Maher (Tipperary)

10. C O’Donoghue (Kilkenny)
11. D McNicholas (Westmeath)
12. L Blanchfield (Kilkenny)

13. J Walsh (Kilkennny)
14. R Greville (Westmeath)
15. N Walsh (Kilkenny)


18. D Byrne for J Kelly (half-time)
24. R Curley for N Walsh (half-time)
21. Colm Byrne for B Maher (47)
23. E O’Heir for J Kelly (48)
17. A Nugent for D McNicholas 48

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Clare’s Duggan and Tipp’s McGrath hit combined tally of 1-20 in UL Fitzgibbon Cup win

Clare set to ‘hurl off the cuff’ and ‘play with freedom’ under new management

About the author:

Ciarán Gallagher

Read next: