This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 7 April, 2020


303,104 Views 113 Comments

Welcome to our live coverage of the All-Ireland SFC semi-final meeting between Dublin and Mayo. These two rivals have clashed frequently at the business end of the competition over the last decade and this should be another thrilling encounter.

First to team news. Here’s how both sides are named to start but, as ever, expect a few late changes before throw-in.


1. Robert Hennelly – Breaffy

2. Chris Barrett – Belmullet
3. Brendan Harrison – Aghamore
4. Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore

5. Lee Keegan – Westport
6. Colm Boyle – Davitts
7. Patrick Durcan – Castlebar Mitchels (captain)

8. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
9. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy

10. Fionn McDonagh – Westport
11. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore
12. Fergal Boland – Aghamore

13. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
14. Darren Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
15. James Carr – Ardagh.


1. Stephen Cluxton – Parnells

2. David Byrne – Naomh Olaf
3. Cian O’Sullivan – Kilmacud Crokes
4. Michael Fitzsimons – Cuala 

5. Jack McCaffrey – Clontarf
6. James McCarthy – Ballymun Kickhams
7. John Small – Ballymun Kickhams 

8. Brian Fenton – Raheny
9. Michael Darragh MacAuley – Ballyboden St Enda’s

10. Niall Scully – Templeogue Synge Street 
11. Con O’Callaghan – Cuala
12. Brian Howard – Raheny

13. Paul Mannion – Kilmacud Crokes 
14. Dean Rock – Ballymun Kickhams 
15. Ciaran Kilkenny – Castleknock

Some big crowds have gathered outside Croke Park ahead of the 5pm throw-in.

David and Iarla Hannon Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Both sets of players had a walk on the pitch earlier:

Aidan O'Shea Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Brian Fenton Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

We’re less than 30 minutes away from throw-in so it’s prediction time. Who do you fancy to win this and by how much?

Four late changes to the starting teams.

For Dublin, Jonny Cooper replaces Cian O’Sullivan.

On the Mayo side, Donie Vaughan, Matthew Ruane and Diarmuid O’Connor come into the team, with Kevin McLoughlin, Fergal Boland and Darren Coen dropping out.

Those late Mayo changes mean we could see Aidan O’Shea at full-forward from early on. Matthew Ruane will be the man who starts at midfield to track Brian Fenton. And we’re looking at either Paddy Durcan or Diarmuid O’Connor picking up Jack McCaffrey.

The players are in the parade and we’re not long away now. Can Mayo end Dublin’s Drive for Five? We’ll find out shortly.

Dublin 0-0 Mayo 0-1

An early chance for Mayo after John Small fouls Cillian O’Connor. He takes the free and Hawk-Eye rules it over the bar. Early lead for Mayo.


Dublin 0-0 Mayo 0-2

Stephen Coen feeds Seamus O’Shea for Mayo’s second score.


Dublin 0-1 Mayo 0-2

Small is fouled by Fionn McDonagh and Rock converts the free.


Bad miss by Aidan O’Shea from about 30m after a great run through the Dublin defence.


Dublin 0-2 Mayo 0-2

Rock swings over his second free of the day. A low-scoring start to this game.


Dublin 0-2 Mayo 0-3

Mayo lead after James Carr took on Mick Fitzsimons and popped over a classy score off the left.


Dublin 0-4 Mayo 0-4

Dublin cut Mayo open and Paul Mannion drives over a goal chance from close range. Then Rob Hennelly’s kick-out is intercepted and Mannion punishes the error. Mayo immediately respond through Cillian O’Connor. Superb score. That was a frantic few minutes of action.


Dublin 0-4 Mayo 0-5

Mayo win the kick-out as Aidan O’Shea breaks it to Coen. Durcan is sent scampering through and he slots over. 


Dublin 0-4 Mayo 0-6

Small is booked after he caught Colm Boyle with a high challenge. O’Connor applies the finish from a free.


YELLOW! Ruane is booked for a high challenge on Small. 


Mayo were caught coming out of their defence but Mannion’s shot at the posts goes wide.


Dublin haven’t scored in over 12 minutes but Rock stands over a free after Fionn McDonagh’s foul on Small.


Dublin 0-5 Mayo 0-6

Rock’s free sails between the posts. 

Mayo sub: Keith Higgins replaces Donie Vaughan, who had little impact out there.


Superb turnover from Durcan on McCaffrey and Mayo break at pace…


Dublin 0-5 Mayo 0-7

Fantastic leadership from Boyle who drives forward and slots it over off the outside of the right boot. This has been very impressive from Mayo so far today.


How long until we see Diarmuid Connolly? Dublin look a long way off their best, particularly up front.


Dublin 0-5 Mayo 0-8

Hint of a goal chance as Durcan sends a high ball into Cillian O’Connor but Cluxton is there to clear the danger. Mayo work a scoring chance but Carr drops it yet. As Dublin try to counter, Mayo turn them over and Durcan pops up for his second of the day. 


Dublin 0-6 Mayo 0-8

Fenton feeds Howard for a vital Dublin score. The two Raheny men linking up very well there.

Flag 44Mins

Dublin 0-6 Mayo 0-8 – HT

Mayo lead by two after a cracking first-half.


Some action from the opening period.

Robert Hennelly and Colm Boyle with Con O’Callaghan Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Robert Hennelly and Colm Boyle with Con O’Callaghan Source: James Crombie/INPHO


We’re back underway for the second-half.


Dublin 0-7 Mayo 0-8

Rock kick an early free for Dublin after he was fouled by Chris Barrett. At the far end, Durcan’s shot dorps just short.


Dublin 1-9 Mayo 0-8

Kilkenny put O’Callaghan through there after he shrugged off Keegan. Scully follows it up with another score and then Mannion lofts out over from the wing. This has been some start to the second-half by Dublin. Mayo are really struggling on their own restarts.


Dublin 1-11 Mayo 0-8

Rock swings over a free after Keegan fouls O’Callaghan. Then Dublin win another kick-out and Mannion takes his point from a difficult angle. Mayo are still in the dressing room. 


Dublin 2-12 Mayo 0-8

Mannion’s fifth point of the game extends the Dublin lead to 10. Incredible turnaround at the interval. O’Callaghan left Keegan on the deck with a brilliant shake of the hips for his second goal of the half.


And Andy Moran enters the fray for Mayo, replacing James Carr. 


Dublin 2-12 Mayo 1-8

Play is stopped after Con went down with a head injury when Hennelly came out to clear a dangerous ball. Harrison is now picking up O’Callaghan and Keegan is given more of a licence to attack.


Dublin 2-13 Mayo 1-8

Rock converts a free after O’Callaghan was fouled by Harrison. 


Dublin 2-13 Mayo 1-8

Bad wide by Diarmuid O’Connor after a well-worked Mayo move.


Dublin 3-13 Mayo 1-9 

Coen pops over a point for Mayo but they’re looking tired now.


This second-half display has been as good as we’ve seen from Dublin in a couple of years. They’re 70 minutes away from history.


Dublin sub: Cormac Costello is on for Mannion, who scored 0-5 from five shots today. 


Dublin 3-14 Mayo 1-9

Fenton breaks through for another goal chance but Hennelly deflects it over the bar.


Dublin subs: Diarmuid Connolly and Paddy Andrews replace Scully and O’Callaghan.


RED! Cillian O’Connor is sent-off for a second yellow and Mayo are down to 14.


Seven wides now for Mayo after  Fergal Boland’s missed effort. 


BLACK! Cormac Costello is black carded late in the day.


Dublin 3-14 Mayo 1-10 – FT

Dublin are into the All-Ireland final.


That’s all from us, thanks for joining. We’ll have lots of reaction and analysis from Croke Park the site shortly so stay tuned.

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel