This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 19 °C Friday 29 May, 2020

Canning one of six Galway hurlers named in minor team of the year

All-Ireland finalists Galway and Cork have 11 players in the team between them.

Joe Canning and Jack Canning celebrate Joe and Jack Canning showing off the silverware on All-Ireland final day. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

FIVE COUNTIES ARE represented in the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards Hurling Team of the Year for 2017.

All-Ireland champions Galway have six representatives, including Jack Canning at full-forward. The nephew of Galway senior star Joe, Jack was named man of the match after scoring 2-2 in the Tribesmen’s final victory over Cork nine days ago.

Brian Turnbull, who hit 1-7 on All-Ireland final day, is one of five Cork players included. Turnbull finished as the championship’s top scorer with a total of 1-51 from six games.

Dublin, who lost to Cork in the semi-finals, have two players in the team — Lee Gannon and Sean Currie. Kilkenny, who were the other beaten semi-finalists, are represented by Adrian Mullen, while Aidan McCarthy flies the flag for quarter-finalists Clare.

The players will be formally recognised at the inaugural Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards that will take place at Croke Park on 7 October.

Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Hurling Team of the Year

1. Darrach Fahy — Galway (Ardrahan)

2. Caimin Killeen — Galway (Loughrea)
3. Sean O’Leary Hayes — Cork (Midleton)
4. Darren Morrissey — Galway (Sarsfields)

5. Aidan McCarthy — Clare (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. James Keating — Cork (Kildorrery)
7. Lee Gannon — Dublin (Whitehall Colmcilles)

8. Daire Connery — Cork (Na Piarsaigh)
9. Conor Fahey — Galway (Padraig Pearses)

10. Brian Roche — Cork (Bride Rovers)
11. Sean Currie — Dublin (Na Fianna)
12. Adrian Mullen — Kilkenny (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

13. Sean Bleahene — Galway (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
14. Jack Canning — Galway (Portumna)
15. Brian Turnbull — Cork (Douglas)

The four-man awards selection panel consists of former Cork goalkeeper and current Clare hurling selector Dónal Óg Cusack; former Armagh All-Star footballer Oisín McConville; former Galway hurler and All-Ireland Club hurling championship winning manager Mattie Kenny; and Meath senior football manager Andy McEntee.

Cusack said: “To be named on the Hurling Team of the Year is a real honour for these players, their families, counties, schools and clubs. There is some serious talent in the team and we are looking at the future of hurling there.

“They deserve recognition for the commitment and quality they gave to their teams this year both on and off the pitch and it gives their team-mates and players across the minor championships something to strive for. Only one team can lift the All-Ireland but these great players can be celebrated.”

O’Connor’s steely focus, White’s comeback from injury and Buckley’s 18th All-Ireland

Andy Moran’s preparation similar to a ‘boxer or UFC fighter – the way he diets, the way he trains’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel