Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
John McVitty/INPHO Banty: Monaghan can win McKenna Cup for the first time since 2003.
# Silverware
Banty names Monaghan XV for McKenna Cup decider against Tyrone
Conor Forde replaces regular goalkeeper Rory Beggan for Saturday evening’s final.

CAPTAIN RYAN WYLIE returns to Monaghan’s starting XV for Saturday’s McKenna Cup final against Tyrone.

Farney boss Seamus McEnaney has made a host of changes for the pre-season decider, including in goal where Emyvale’s Conor Forde replaces regular stopper Rory Beggan.

Darren Hughes and Jack McCarron are also absent from the named starting XV. Both players pulled up in the defeat against Donegal earlier this month, although their substitutions were described at the time as “precautionary”.

McEnaney and Monaghan are seeking a first McKenna Cup since 2003 while Tyrone, the defending champions, bid to extend the monopoly they have enjoyed in recent years with seven of the last eight titles.

Throw-in at the Athletic Grounds is at 7.30pm on Saturday.

Monaghan SF v Tyrone

1. Conor Forde (Emyvale)

2. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Conor Boyle (Clontibret)

5. Shane Carey (Scotstown)
6. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)
7. Padraic Keenan (Corduff)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

8. Niall Kearns (Sean McDermotts)
9. Barry McBennett (Doohamlet)

10. Michael P O’Dowd (Clontibret)
11. Robbie McAllister (Emyvale)
12. Dessie Ward (Ballybay)

13. Jason Irwin (Oram)
14. Keith McEnaney (Corduff)
15. Philip Donnelly (Blackhill)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel