Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Tuesday 20 April 2021

The Donegal retirements continue as Gallagher the latest All-Ireland winner to depart

Injury has forced the Glenswilly man to call it a day.

Neil Gallagher Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

MIDFIELDER NEIL GALLAGHER has become the latest Donegal All-Ireland winner to announce his retirement from inter-county football.

Injury problems have hampered the Glenswilly man in recent seasons and today manager Rory Gallagher has confirmed that he has stepped away with a back complaint.

Gallagher brings his inter-county career to an end after making his debut back in 2003 in a Dr McKenna Cup game.

Tom Parsons tackles Neil Gallagher Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The highlight of his career came in 2012 when he was a key member of the Donegal team that claimed All-Ireland success with a win over Mayo.

Gallagher was an All-Star winning midfielder in 2012 and 2014 while he claimed three Ulster senior football medals in 2011, 2012 and 2014.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Jim McGuinness celebrates with Neil Gallagher Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Neil Gallagher lifts the Sam Maguire cup Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The retirement of Gallagher is the latest departure from the Donegal ranks. It emerged last month that Rory Kavanagh, Christy Toye and David Walsh had all retired while Colm McFadden and Eamon McGee both announced their retirements in the wake of last August’s All-Ireland quarter-final loss to Dublin.

Leo McLoone, Odhran MacNiallais and Anthony Thompson are also unavailable for Donegal boss Rory Gallagher this season.

There are now only seven players left from the starting side in Donegal’s 2012 All-Ireland final win over Mayo – Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath, Frank McGlynn, Karl Lacey, Mark McHugh, Patrick McBrearty and Michael Murphy.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Limerick senior forward switches clubs to 2016 Dublin football finalists

Ex-Aussie Rules player departs Kildare panel as serious hip injury takes its toll

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: