Roscommon smashed four second half goals past Galway to start the year with some silverware

John Evans’ men gave a remarkable second half performance to win the FBD League.

The Roscommon players celebrate their FBD League victory.
The Roscommon players celebrate their FBD League victory.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Roscommon 4-8
Galway 1-12

FOUR GOAL ROSCOMMON stunned Galway in the FBD League final in Kiltoom as second half strikes from Ciaran Murtagh, Diarmuid Murtagh, Ciaran Cafferkey and Senan Kilbride were enough to sink Galway.

The game started brightly with Ciaran Murtagh and Michael Martin kicking scores at either end in the opening minute.

Enda Smith put Roscommon ahead before Danny Cummins fisted over Eddie Hoare’s high ball, as Smith then notched his second with little separating the sides.

Michael Martin’s free was followed by Shane Walsh’s opening score to give Galway the lead, before Diarmuid Murtagh’s double from frees gave the Rossies the incentive again.

John Evans had rolled out the blanket defence from this point as Johnny Heaney notched the score of the half for the Tribesmen, before Diarmuid Murtagh’s cracker on the whistle saw the hosts lead 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.

Ciarain Murtagh and Shane Walsh Roscommon's Ciaran Murtagh and Galway's Shane Walsh. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Roscommon fired their first goal two minutes after the restart when Ciaran Murtagh lashed home, and despite three unanswered Galway scores they struck two more goals inside a minute as Diarmuid Murtagh and Ciaran Cafferkey slotted home.

Galway came back at them once more as Eddie Hoare, Cummins and Walsh all split the posts before the Rossies’ fourth goal came from stalwart Senan Kilbride and a late consolation strike from Enda Tierney wasn’t enough for the Tribesmen.

Neil Collins and Danny Cummins Roscommon's Neil Collins and Galway's Danny Cummins. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Scorers for Roscommon: Diarmuid Murtagh 1-3 (0-2f), Enda Smith 1-2, Ciaran Murtagh 1-1, Ciaran Cafferkey 1-0, Cathal Shine, Senan Kilbride 0-1 each.

Scorers for Galway: Michael Martin 0-3 (0-2f), Enda Tierney 1-0, Shane Walsh, Danny Cummins, Eddie Hoare (0-2f) 0-2 each, Johnny Heaney, Gareth Bradshaw, Fiontan O Curraoin 0-1 each.


1. Darren O’Malley (Michael Glaveys)

2. Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses)
4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St. Kevin’s)

18. Ronan Stack (St. Brigid’s)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ciaran Caffferkey (Western Gaels)

8. Ian Kilbride (St. Brigid’s)
23. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael)

11. Enda Smith (Boyle)
12. Donie Smith (Boyle)
10. Mark Nally (Roscommon Gaels)

13. Diarmuid Murtagh (St.Faithleach’s)
14. Senan Kilbride (St. Brigid’s)
15. Ciaran Murtagh (St.Faithleach’s)

John Evans Roscommon manager John Evans. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO


22. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels) for Nally (46)
27. Ultan Harney (Clann Na nGael) for Donie Smith (48)
29. Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses) for Ian Kilbride (53)
5. Brian Murtagh (St. Faithleachs) for Senan Kilbride (58)
26. Ollie Milton (St. Dominic’s) for Ciaran Murtagh (60)

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member


1. Manus Breathnach (An Spideal)

2. Tom Fahy (Killererin)
3. David Walsh (Killanin)
4. Cathal Sweeney (Killanin)

5. Johnny Heaney (Killanin)
6. Gareth Bradshaw (Moycullen)
7. Gary O’Donnell (Tuam Stars)

8. Fiontan O Curraoin (Micheal Breathnach’s)
9. Enda Tierney (Oughterard)

10. Sean Denvir (Micheal Breathnachs)
12. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
11. Michael Martin (Milltown)

15. Martin Coady (Oughterard)
13. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)
14. Eddie Hoare (St. Michael’s)

Kevin Walsh Galway boss Kevin Walsh. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO


16. TJ Forde (Annaghdown) for Breathnach (42)
19. Keith Kelly (Ballinasloe) for Fahy (48)
22. Tomas Flynn (Athenry) for Denvir (53)
23. Patrick Sweeney (Killanin) for Martin (58)

Referee: John Gilmartin (Sligo)

Dublin see off Kildare after extra-time in O’Byrne Cup final that features 43 points

Dublin ease past Antrim into the Walsh Cup semi-finals

About the author:

Jason Byrne

Read next: