Schmidt names Carbery at out-half as O'Mahony captains Ireland

Johnny Sexton is part of the Ireland bench for the first clash with the Wallabies.

Murray Kinsella reports from Brisbane

JOE SCHMIDT HAS named Joey Carbery at out-half for Ireland’s first Test against the Wallabies in Brisbane on Saturday [KO 11.05am Irish time], with Johnny Sexton on the bench.

Carbery, who will move from Leinster to Munster next season in search of more game time at 10, has been backed by Schmidt to guide Ireland in what should be a ferocious first clash with the Wallabies.

Joey Carbery during training Carbery starts at 10. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Schmidt has made six changes to the Ireland team that beat England to seal the Grand Slam back in March, with only Rory Best’s absence forced by injury. Sexton is joined on the bench by Leinster team-mates Sean Cronin, Cian Healy and Tadhg Furlong, while Garry Ringrose and Dan Leavy are missing from the matchday 23 altogether.

Munster’s Peter O’Mahony takes over the captaincy with Best missing from Ireland’s tour due to a hamstring injury.

The presence of Conor Murray at scrum-half will provide experience alongside Carbery, while a midfield of Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw offers power and composure.

Rob Kearney continues at fullback, while Keith Earls and Jacob Stockdale are also retained in the back three, meaning Carbery has a proven backline around him.

The front row is completely changed from Ireland’s most recent game, as Schmidt names Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and John Ryan to start.

Iain Henderson is in the second row with James Ryan, while Jordi Murphy comes into the team at openside flanker in a back row that also includes O’Mahony and CJ Stander.

Completing the bench are Quinn Roux, Jack Conan, Kieran Marmion and Jordan Larmour.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member


15. Rob Kearney
14. Keith Earls
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Joey Carbery
9. Conor Murray

1. Jack McGrath
2. Rob Herring
3. John Ryan
4. Iain Henderson
5. James Ryan
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Jordi Murphy
8. CJ Stander


16. Sean Cronin
17. Cian Healy
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Quinn Roux
20. Jack Conan
21. Kieran Marmion
22. Johnny Sexton
23. Jordan Larmour

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

McNamara braced for ‘huge test’ to salvage a win against improving Georgia

‘Whenever I put on that shirt I try and do the country proud, do my family proud’

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel