This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 4 August, 2020

2017 and 2018 All-Ireland winning captain and Player of the Year to lead Dublin again

Sinéad Aherne is a real leader.

2019 captain: Sinead Aherne.
2019 captain: Sinead Aherne.
Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

DUBLIN LGFA HAVE confirmed that 2017 and 2018 All-Ireland winning captain Sinéad Aherne will lead the charge once again.

Mick Bohan’s Sky Blues are chasing three in-a-row this year, while hoping to defend their first-ever Lidl Ladies National Football League Division 1 crown — and 2018 Player of the Year Sinéad Aherne has been tasked with the job of captain again.

A real leader both on and off the pitch, the St Sylvester’s sharpshooter made her debut back in 2003 and has been absolutely immense since then, winning three All-Ireland titles, 12 Leinster senior crowns and seven All-Stars.

As well as the 2018 Division 1 honour, she has two Division 2 medals to her name.

One of the finest players across the length and breadth of the country, Aherne’s scoring exploits on any given day are pretty remarkable — her scoring from play and accuracy from frees second to none.

She was key last year as the Jackies made it back-to-back All-Ireland titles for the first time ever, lifting plenty of silverware en route, while she was rightfully recognised as Footballer of the Year by her peers at the All-Star awards.

Elsewhere, Moy Davitts star Niamh Kelly will captain Mayo for 2019 as the Green and Red look to get back on track after a difficult summer last year.

Amanda Brosnan will skipper Kerry as they begin life in Division 2, Tracey Leonard captains Galway while it was confirmed a few weeks back that star forward Doireann O’Sullivan would take over duties from her older sister, Ciara.

Laurie Ryan also captains Clare once again for the year ahead.

Just over a week out from the 2019 Six Nations openers, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey are joined by Bernard Jackman to look at Ireland’s bid for another Grand Slam:

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel