Dublin: 15°C Thursday 30 June 2022

Division 1A HL: Tipperary edge out Kilkenny in Semple showdown

Lar Corbett raised a green flag and Tommy Walsh was shown a red card in today’s clash.

Lar Corbett strikes to the net for Tipperary.
Lar Corbett strikes to the net for Tipperary.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Tipperary 2-17
Kilkenny 1-19

BRIAN CODY’S KILKENNY slumped to a second successive Allianz National Hurling League Division 1A defeat this afternoon.

The champions lost by a single point against Tipperary in the first meeting between the fierce rivals since last August’s All-Ireland semi-final.

On that occasion, Kilkenny dished out Tipp’s heaviest championship defeat since the 1800s but the Premier County gained some manner of revenge at a bitterly cold Semple Stadium today.

In front of 5,697 spectators, Eamon O’Shea’s charges carved out a gritty win which helped to erase the memories of a whopping 12-point defeat to Cork in the opening round of fixtures.

Both teams had a player sent off as Kilkenny’s Tommy Walsh and Tipp’s Noel McGrath were both dismissed for second bookable offences in the second half.

Tommy Walsh of Kilkenny is sent off by referee Michael Wadding
Pic: INPHO/Lorraine O’Sullivan

Kilkenny have some work to do now if they want to retain their League crown while Tipp will hope that this win, their first in five outings against the Cats, will provide the platform to kick on from for the remainder of the season.

There was redemption, too, for Lar Corbett as the Thurles Sarsfields player scored his first Tipperary goal since the 2011 All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin.

Playing with the aid of a stiff breeze in the first half, Tipp went on to establish a 2-11 to 1-8 interval lead. Richie Hogan netted a 15th minute goal to put Kilkenny 1-4 to 0-4 clear but Tipp hit back with two goals before half-time.

Tipp’s first goal, in the 27th minute, was a fortuitous effort as Conor O’Mahony’s long ball bounced off the helmet of John O’Dwyer and into the Kilkenny net.

Corbett struck three minutes before half-time, beating Kilkenny goalkeeper David Herity to Pádraic Maher’s lengthy delivery with a neat flick.

Scorers for Tipperary: Eoin Kelly 0-9 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Lar Corbett 1-1, John O’Dwyer 1-0, Pa Bourke 0-2 (0-1f), Padraic Maher, Noel McGrath, Brendan Maher, Shane Bourke, Seamus Callanan 0-1 each.
Scorers for Kilkenny: Richie Power 0-9 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), Richie Hogan 1-2, Eoin Larkin 0-3 (1 sl), Paddy Hogan 0-2 (0-1f), Aidan Fogarty, Matthew Ruth, Colin Fennelly 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson (Portroe); Paddy Stapleton (Borrisoleigh), Paul Curran (Mullinahone), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Conor O’Mahony (Newport), Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty); Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Brendan Maher (Borrisoleigh); Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields), John O’Brien (Toomevara); John O’Dwyer (Killenaule), Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone), Pa Bourke (Thurles Sarsfields).

Subs: Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for Ryan (51), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch) for O’Dwyer (57), Tomás Hamill (Killea) for O’Mahony (58), Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs) for Bourke (61), Jason Forde (Silvermines) for J O’Brien (66).

KILKENNY: David Herity (Dunnamaggin); Paul Murphy (Danesfort), JJ Delaney (Fenians), Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own); Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan), Brian Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), Paddy Hogan (Danesfort); Lester Ryan (Clara), Richie Power (Carrickshock); Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eoin Larkin (James Stephens); Matthew Ruth (James Stephens), Richie Hogan (Danesfort), Aidan Fogarty (Emeralds).

Subs: Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge) for B Hogan (47), Tom Breen (St Martin’s for Ruth (52), Ger Aylward (Glenmore) for Kelly (65).

Referee: Michael Wadding (Waterford).

As it happened: Sunday afternoon GAA

As it happened: Dublin v Kildare, Allianz FL Division 1

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel