Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Presseye/Matt Mackey/INPHO
# starting XV
Ulster without Jackson, Cave and Wilson as Kiss names team for Edinburgh clash
Rob Lyttle, Brett Herron and Clive Ross have earned starts.

ULSTER DIRECTOR OF rugby Les Kiss has named a reshuffled side for tomorrow night’s [7.35pm, BBC NI] Guinness Pro12 clash against Edinburgh in Murrayfield.

Darren Cave (calf) and Roger Wilson (knee) are unavailable through injury while Jackson, who didn’t travel with the Ireland squad to the US due to personal reasons, is rested under the Irish player management programme.

Kiwi flyer Charles Piutau and Tommy Bowe are once again named among the back three with Rob Lyttle starting on the left wing in place of the absent Craig Gilroy, who is in Chicago with Joe Schmidt’s squad.

Luke Marshall, who didn’t make the cut for the Test squad, is partnered by Sam Windsor in midfield in the absence of Cave, while Ruan Pienaar and Brett Herron team up in the halfbacks.

Kiss has named an unchanged front five from last week’s defeat to Munster while Pete Browne and Clive Ross have earned starts in the back row, where they will line out alongside Sean Reidy, who signed a contract extension with the province yesterday.

Robbie Diack drops to the bench which also includes Kyle McCall, Paul Marshall and Jacob Stockdale.

Edinburgh’s acting head coach Duncan Hodge has named five changes to his starting side to face Ulster.

All of the changes come in the forward pack, with Hodge refreshing the front-row and making two alterations in the back-five.

Neil Cochrane is named as captain and starts at hooker, with young props Jack Cosgrove and Murray McCallum set to join him in the front-row.

With Grant Gilchrist and John Hardie retained by the Scotland squad, Fraser McKenzie and Jamie Ritchie are named to start at lock and back row respectively.


15. Charles Piutau
14. Tommy Bowe
13. Luke Marshall
12. Sam Windsor
11. Rob Lyttle
10. Brett Herron
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring (capt)
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Dan Tuohy
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Pete Browne
7. Clive Ross
8. Sean Reidy

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

16. John Andrew
17. Kyle McCall
18. Andy Warwick
19. Robbie Diack
20. Conor Joyce
21. Paul Marshall
22. Aaron Cairns
23. Jacob Stockdale


15. Blair Kinghorn
14. Damien Hoyland
13. Chris Dean
12. Phil Burleigh
11. Tom Brown
10. Jason Tovey
9. Sean Kennedy

1. Jack Cosgrove
2. Neil Cochrane (capt)
3. Murray McCallum
4. Fraser McKenzie
5. Ben Toolis
6. Viiame Mata
7. Jamie Ritchie
8. Magnus Bradbury

16. Stuart McInally
17. Kyle Whyte
18. Felipe Arregui
19. Lewis Carmichael
20. Cornell Du Preez
21. Sam Higalgo-Clyne
22. Duncan Weir
23. Michael Allen

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Wales boosted by Halfpenny return for first Test appearance in 14 months

Dropped from the Munster Academy, Ireland U20s star set for debut in France tonight