Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 7°C Saturday 5 December 2020

Barron and Gleeson lead goal-hungry Waterford past 13-man Cork and into All-Ireland final

The Deise had 11-points to spare over the Rebels.

Waterford 4-19

Cork 0-20

Kevin O’Brien reports from Croke Park

BY THE END, the wheels had fallen spectacularly off the wagon for Cork.

Jamie Barron celebrates scoring his sides opening goal Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Waterford are into their first All-Ireland final under Derek McGrath, achieving a victory in an All-Ireland semi-final on the after two defeats and a draw at this stage since 2014.

A brace from Jamie Barron and goals from Austin Gleeson and Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh sent the Deise into their first All-Ireland final in nine years and exacted revenge for their defeat to Cork earlier in the summer.

Today’s result sets up a first ever All-Ireland final meeting between Galway and Waterford, who did it without their suspended talisman Tadhg de Burca.

Barron’s 2-1 pretty much nailed his second consecutive All-Star, while Darragh Fives performed admirably in the sweeper role in de Burca’s absence.

Austin Gleeson celebrates scoring their third goal Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Much like Joe Canning seven days ago, Austin Gleeson saved his best for the second-half when he set-up Barron’s 58th minute goal before waltzing through for Waterford’s third three-pointer two minutes later.

In the space of two minutes Waterford had turned a two point deficit into a five-point lead and from that point they never looked like losing.

Unfortunately the reigning Hurler of the Year, who hit 1-2 today, may well be suspended for the final for pulling the helmet off Luke Meade under the Hogan Stand after 18 minutes.

His namesake Conor Gleeson was dismissed late on for a foolish off-the-ball strike on Patrick Horgan, who was also sent off for his role in the clash. It’s possible Derek McGrath’s side will be without both men as they bid for a first All-Ireland title since 1959.

Patrick Horgan and Shane Fives Source: James Crombie/INPHO

In relation to the game itself, it was the 51st minute second yellow picked up by Damien Cahalane for a high challenge on Conor Gleeson that derailed Cork’s challenge and set Waterford on their way.

It was a day where Cork relied on the old hand of Patrick Horgan, who hit 0-12 including five from play.

Waterford’s experienced heads led the charge right from the off. Walsh buried his fourth minute goal arrived after a fantastic ball across the goal by Shane Bennett, and Moran followed it up with a quick-fire brace to leave them 1-3 to 0-4 in front.

Horgan missed a couple of scoreable frees in the first half, but he had all but two of Cork’s scores by the interval. No Cork forward outside of Horgan scored between the 12th and 43rd minute, and they heavily relied on the 29-year-old to keep the scoreboard ticking over.

Maurice Shanahan celebrates a late score Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Waterford led by 1-7 to 0-9 at half-time, but the sides were deadlocked throughout a cagey third quarter. Austin Gleeson’s score on the spin in the 52nd minute put the Deise 1-13 to 0-15 ahead and suggested their talisman was beginning to come to life.

Then the critical goals arrived through Barron and Gleeson to turn the game on its head.

Lehane and Luke O’Farrell pulled back efforts, but there was no stopping the Deise now. Maurice Shanahan and Gleeson landed a pair of fist-pumpers, Barron ran in his second goal on a counter-attack, and that was that.

Scorers for Waterford: Jamie Barron 2-1, Austin Gleeson 1-2, Paurice Mahony 0-8 (0-5f), Kevin Moran 0-4, Michael Walsh 1-0, Darragh Fives, Brian O’Halloran, Conor Gleeson and Maurice Shanahan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Patrick Horgan 0-12 (0-7f), Conor Lehane and Alan Cadogan 0-2 each, Darragh Fitzgibbon (sideline), Seamus Harnedy, Shane Kingston and Luke O’Farrell 0-1 each.


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

15. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

18. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart)
9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Jake Dillon (De La Salle)


21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore) for Dillon (45)
20. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Bennett (55)
19. Tommy Ryan (Tallow) for Walsh (59)
23. Colin Dunford (Colligan) for Mahony (68)
22. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan) for Barron (71)


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

3. Damien Cahalane (St Finbarr’s)
4. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)

6. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
2. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers)
7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)

15. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
12. Shane Kingston (Douglas)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
14. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
10. Seamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)


25. Michael Cahalane (Bandon) for Meade (ht)
21. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields) for Cooper (65)
24. Luke O’Farrell (Midleton) for Cadogan (65)

Referee: James Owens (Wexford)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Pig farming, club history in Cork, Waterford hurling brothers – the Shane Fives story

All-Ireland final place at stake today – but can Waterford or Cork become regular contenders?

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: