Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 3°C Thursday 15 April 2021

Late Tom Devine goal books Waterford's quarter-final place while Clare head for play-off

Waterford outscored Clare by 1-5 to 0-2 in the last 15 minutes.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Waterford 2-21

Clare 1-22

Eoin Brennan reporting from Cusack Park, Ennis

IT WAS HIGH stakes hurling in Ennis this afternoon before a late goal from Waterford substitute Tom Devine secured a third successive away victory and more importantly a place in the last eight of the National League against Galway next weekend.

In front of an attendance of 6,640, hosts Clare appeared to be in control of their own destiny as they led by four points entering the final quarter.

However, despite having a strong wind at their backs, the holders would be outscored by 1-5 to 0-2 in the last 15 minutes to break their seven game unbeaten home record and now face a relegation play-off against Dublin.

The precarious nature of the Division 1A table entering the final round ensured a championship-like intensity in Cusack Park, with Waterford flying out of the blocks capped off by a Shane Bennett goal to ease 1-3 to 0-0 clear by the fifth minute.

However, the home side finally got into their stride with a 1-6 rally of their own including an excellent Podge Collins goal that nestled in the top right corner of the net to snatch the advantage at 1-7 to 1-4 by the end of a seesaw opening quarter.

With the returning Tony Kelly adding five points, four from frees, Clare went four clear approaching the midway point only for a brace of Pauric Mahony frees either side of the break to gain parity at 1-13 to 1-13 by the 39th minute.

Tony Kelly and Austin Gleeson Tony Kelly and Austin Gleeson of Waterford. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Now backed by the conditions, Clare pushed on with successive points from Kelly, Collins, John Conlon and Cathal McInerney and despite the best efforts of Mahony, they would protect that margin by the turn of the final quarter.

However, the impact of Devine from the bench gave Waterford the perfect target as he first pointed before adding a decisive 64th minute goal at the second attempt after goalkeeper Andrew Fahey somehow kept out the initial point blank effort.

And while the hosts pushed for a share of the spoils, a 77th minute insurance point from Tommy Ryan maintained Waterford’s perfect National League record on the road as they advanced to the knock-out stages for the third consecutive season.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-10 (8f); Shane Bennett, Tom Devine 1-1 each; Stephen Bennett 0-3; Brian O’Halloran, Austin Gleeson 0-2 each, Patrick Curran, Tommy Ryan 0-1 each

Scorers for Clare: Tony Kelly 0-7 (5f); Podge Collins 1-3; Aron Shanagher, John Conlon, Cathal McInerney 0-2 each; Ian Galvin, David McInerney, Jason McCarthy, Jamie Shanahan, David Fitzgerald, Bobby Duggan 0-1 each


1. Andrew Fahey (Whitegate)

2. David McInerney (Tulla)
3. Cian Dillon (Crusheen)
4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

22. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
6. Conor Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown)
7. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

8. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)
9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10. Cathal Malone (Sixmilebridge)
11. Podge Collins (Cratloe)
12. John Conlon (Clonlara)

14. Aron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
13. Cathal McInerney (Cratloe)
18. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)

15. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones) for I. Galvin (25)
19. Patrick Donnellan (O’Callaghan’s Mills) for McCarthy (65)
26. Colm Galvin (Clonlara) for Malone (65)
24. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle) for C. McInerney (69)
23. Paul Flanagan (Ballyea) for D. McInerney (75, inj)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

18. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)

19. Stephen Daniels (De La Salle)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
7. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

9. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

15. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)

22. Tom Devine (Modeligo) for Curran (42)
20. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper) for A. Gleeson (57)
23. Tommy Ryan (Tallow) for O’Halloran (58)
24. Colin Dunford (Colligan) for Shane Bennett (69)
26. Stephen Roche (Mount Sion) for Coughlan (76, inj)

Referee: John Keenan (Wicklow)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Here’s next weekend’s Allianz hurling league quarter-final clashes

Horgan the hero with 0-15 as Cork edge Tipp to clinch quarter-final spot

About the author:

Eoin Brennan

Read next: