Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Saturday 15 May 2021

Dublin edge out Wexford to book Walsh Cup final spot

Paul Ryan scored the winning point in a 1-15 to 1-14 victory at Pairc Uí Síocháin.

Dublin's Paul Ryan (file photo).
Dublin's Paul Ryan (file photo).
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

Dublin 1-15
Wexford 1-14

DUBLIN ARE THROUGH to the Walsh Cup final after a single-point win over Wexford this afternoon.

Anthony Daly made eight changes for the meeting in Gorey with Gary Maguire retuning in goal and Mark Schutte starting in full-forward.

It was Liam Dunne’s men who had the perfect start, however, when Gary Moore found the back of the net with Wexford’s first score after four minutes.

Ian Byrne and Paul Ryan exchanged a series of frees in the first half and at half time, the Model County held a four-point advantage — 1-11 to 0-10.

Conal Keaney got things underway with a point right after the restart and added another before Dublin took the lead through Ryan’s free, which was deflected past Mark Fanning in the Wexford goal.

Wexford drew level thanks to Morris but then went down to 14 men when Richie Kehoe picked up his second yellow card and a final Ryan free won it for Dublin.

They will meet Kilkenny in the final next Sunday.

Wexford: Mark Fanning (Glynn Barntown), Liam Ryan (Rapparees), Keith Rossiter (Oulart The Ballagh), Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna), Diarmuid O’Keeffe (St Annes), Lee Chin (Faythe Harriers), James Tonks (Ferns St Aidans), Benny Jordan (Ferns St Aidans), Conor Devitt (Kilarnerin/Ballyfad), Shane Tomkins (Askamore), Paul Morris (Ferns St Aidans), Ian Byrne (Ferns St Aidans), Gary Moore (Glynn Barnatown), Podge Doran (Oylegate/Glenbrien), Kevin Foley (Rapparees).
Dublin: Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Simon Timlin (Cuala), Peter Kelly (Lucan Sarsfields), Jack Doughan (Kilmacud Crokes); Joey Boland (Na Fianna), Conor McCormack (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Matthew McCaffrey (Lucan Sarsfields); Martin Quilty (Na Fianna), Shane Durkin (Ballyboden St Enda’s); Conal Keaney (Ballyboden St Enda’s), Ryan O’Dwyer (Kilmacud Crokes), Robbie Mahon (Craobh Chiaráin); Eamon Dillon (Nh Fionnbarra), Mark Schutte (Cuala), Paul Ryan (Ballyboden St Enda’s).

Snapshot: The reason why GAA matches in Limerick have been postponed this weekend

Tipperary’s Waterford Crystal Cup tie against UL has been postponed

About the author:

Ben Blake

Read next: