Dublin: 14°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

Noel McGrath's brother to captain Tipp as opponents Waterford make two changes

Brian McGrath will skipper the Premier County in Gavin Ryan’s absence.

Brian McGrath celebrates Tipperary's All-Ireland minor football semi-final victory over Kildare last year.
Brian McGrath celebrates Tipperary's All-Ireland minor football semi-final victory over Kildare last year.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

BRIAN MCGRATH WILL captain the Tipperary minor hurlers when they begin their Electric Ireland Munster championship campaign against Waterford on Saturday.

In the absence of injured St Mary’s player Gavin Ryan, vice-captain McGrath will lead the team into battle at Walsh Park.

McGrath is a younger brother of Tipp senior star Noel and he was a dual player last year as the Premier County contested All-Ireland minor finals in both codes.

McGrath is one of three players who started against Galway at Croke Park in the hurling decider last September, along with Cian Darcy and Lyndon Fairbrother.

There are eight survivors from the matchday 24 that was named for the Galway loss as manager Liam Cahill targets a winning start to the 2016 campaign.

Tipperary are reigning Munster champions and they’ll throw-in against the Déise at 2pm, with the winners through to a provincial semi-final, and the losers facing a play-off against Clare.

Waterford have made two changes in personnel from the team defeated by Cork in the first round.

Conor Dalton and Tom Barron come into the starting line-up in place of Darragh McGrath and Dylan Guiry.


1. Ciarán Barrett – Clonmel Óg

2. Cillian O’Dwyer – Killenaule
3. Brian McGrath (Capt.) – Loughmore-Castleiney
4. Jerome Cahill – Kilruane MacDonaghs

5. Gavin Dunne – Holycross-Ballycahill
6. Michael Whelan – Carrick Davins
7. Tom Murphy – J.K. Brackens

8. Bryan O’Mara – Holycross-Ballycahill
9. Jake Morris – Nenagh Éire Óg

10. Ger Browne – Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams
11. Dillion Quirke – Clonoulty-Rossmore
12. Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash

13. Shane Neville – Lattin Cullen
14. Cian Darcy – Kilruane MacDonaghs
15. Lyndon Fairbrother – J.K. Brackens


16. Barry Hogan – Kildangan
17. Cian Flanagan – Newport
18. Paddy Cadell – J.K. Brackens
19. Kieran Breen – Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams
20. Rian Doody – Cappawhite
21. Dean O’Connor – Killenaule
22. Robbie Quirke – Cappawhite
23. Conor Stakelum – Thurles Sarsfields
24. Ciaran Kelly – Kildangan


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member

2. Conor Giles Doran (De La Salle)
3. James Flavin (Ardmore)
19. Tom Barron (Fourmilewater)

5. Donal Power (Passage)
6. Eoghan Murray (Ballyduff Upper)
7. Michael O’Brien (Ballinameena)

8. Eoin McGrath (Butlerstown)
9. Harry Ruddle Redmond (Ballygunner)

10. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
17. Conor Dalton (Clonea)
12. Cathal Curran (Brickey Rangers)

13. Michael Mahony (Ballygunner)
14. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside)
15. Thomas Douglas (De La Salle)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Six St Kieran’s Croke Cup winners named in Kilkenny team for Offaly minor clash

Maurice Shanahan sees specialist in a bid to shake off groin injury for league final

About the author:

Read next: