Monday 30 January 2023 Dublin: 8°C
Donall Farmer/INPHO O'Connor appears on course for Mayo's Connacht SFC clash with Galway on 14 June (file photo).
# green and red
Good news, Mayo fans! Cillian O'Connor played (briefly) in Ballintubber's win today
Castlebar and Ballina both won their opening matches on Saturday evening.

Updated 20.10

CILLIAN O’CONNOR WAS shown a black card as champions Ballintubber opened the defence of their Mayo senior football title with a win.

O’Connor missed a chunk of Mayo’s league campaign and needed surgery on a knee injury, but returned to club action in a 15-point win over Ballinrobe.

He came off the bench as a second-half sub and scored a point before he was ordered off with a black card just 16 minutes later.

Elsewhere on Sunday there were wins for Knockmore, Breaffy, Kiltane and Garrymore in their opening round-robin games.

On Saturday, Castlebar Mitchels launched the bid to regain the crown they won in 2013 with a four-point win against Ballaghaderreen.

The 2013 champions, who have been involved in four of the last five county finals, trailed by 0-6 to 0-5 at the break.

But Declan O’Reilly’s men held the visitors to just one point in the second half in Castlebar.

Meanwhile Ballina Stephenites ran out seven-point winners against Claremorris in Saturday’s other Group 2 clash.

Ballina led by two points after a close-fought opening half, 0-7 to 0-5, but pulled away after the break to open with a comfortable victory.

Mayo senior football championship - Sunday

Group 1:

  • Knockmore 0-15 Ballyhaunis 1-9
  • Breaffy 1-10 Davitts 1-9 

Group 3:

  • Ballintubber 1-23 Ballinrobe 1-8

Group 4:

  • Kiltane 1-16 Shrule/Glencorrib 1-14
  • Garrymore 2-12 Charlestown 1-11


Group 2:

  • Castlebar Mitchels 0-10 Ballaghaderreen 0-6
  • Ballina Stephenites 1-11 Claremorris 0-7

Austin Stacks took the first step in defending their Kerry football crown today

The All-Ireland club football champions have got their 2015 campaign off to a winning start