This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 4 April, 2020

Cuala star Con O'Callaghan to start for Dublin U21 footballers in Leinster opener

Colm Basquel is also selected in a strong line-up.

Con O'Callaghan.
Con O'Callaghan.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CUALA STAR CON O’Callaghan will line out for Dublin’s U21 footballers in their Leinster championship opener tomorrow night, 16 days before his club’s All-Ireland hurling showdown against Ballyea on St Patrick’s Day.

The talented dual star was Dublin’s leading light at this age-grade last year, their campaign coming to a halt at the semi-final stage against eventual All-Ireland champions Mayo.

O’Callaghan was a key figure for Cuala just three days ago, scoring 1-3 from play as the Dalkey club clinched a 3-21 to 2-11 victory against Derry champions Slaughtneil.

The Dublin senior panellist has been named at centre-forward on the U21 team to take on Westmeath in Mullingar tomorrow night (7.30pm, St Loman’s).

He is joined in a talented half-forward line by fellow senior panellist Colm Basquel, who won an All-Ireland club football title with Ballyboden St Enda’s last St Patrick’s Day.

It’s a strong Dublin side as O’Callaghan and Basquel are just two of nine players who featured in last year’s semi-final defeat to Mayo.

Westmeath overcame Meath last time out in the first round of the provincial competition. The winner of tomorrow night’s game will take on the victor between Kildare and Longford which throws in at the same time at Hawkfield.

Dublin: (v Westmeath)

1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)

2. Eoin Murchan (Na Fianna)
3. Cillian O’Shea (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Darren Byrne (Raheny)

5. Shane Clayton (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
6. Sean McMahon (Raheny)
7. Brian Howard (Raheny)

8. Andy Foley (Clontarf)
9. Donal McIlgorm (Skerries Harps)

10. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)
11. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
12. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)

13. Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis)
14. Aaron Byrne (Na Fianna)
15. Tom Fox (Kilmacud Crokes)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

GPA ‘accepts decision of Congress’ and defends its approach to ‘Super 8′ motion

The Donegal captain with Clermont and the Welsh rugby great playing for Glenswilly

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Alan Waldron

Read next: