2016 champions Carbery Rangers and 2014 winners Ballincollig enjoy Cork SFC opening round wins

Nemo Rangers began the defence of their county title with a win on Saturday.

Updated Apr 15th 2018, 7:45 PM

Players of Carbery Rangers stand for the national anthem before the game Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

2016 CHAMPIONS CARBERY Rangers enjoyed a 0-11 to 0-8 victory against Clonakilty in the opening round of the Cork SFC today.

Elsewhere on Sunday, 2014 winners Ballincollig ran out 0-15 to 0-8 victors against Ilen Rovers, while Newcestown lost by 3-6 to 1-9 to Valley Rovers.

Luke Connolly Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

On Saturday, and less than a month after they were defeated in the All-Ireland club final, Nemo Rangers began the defence of their county title with a 1-16 to 0-5 win over Clyda Rovers.

Luke Connolly was the goalscorer for Nemo, who led by six at half-time.

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Conor O’Driscoll scored both goals as Castlehaven enjoyed a 2-15 to 2-10 win over Dohenys, while O’Donovan Rossa edged out Aghada by 1-16 to 3-8.

On Friday night, 2017 finalists St Finbarrs saw off Carrigaline on a scoreline 1-17 to 3-6.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Substitute Pearson bags late 1-2 to help Kilmacud past the 2016 All-Ireland champions

1-10 for Dean Rock as Ballymun open up Dublin SFC with comfortable win over St Brigid’s

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel